Tashweesh festival
Women of Colour in the Music Industry

conversations

Women of Colour in the Music Industry

TASHWEESH FESTIVAL talk
SA 08.10 19:00

Womxn of colour burst the industry’s misogynist bubble. With Sara Dziri and Soumaya Phéline.

The music industry is nowhere near achieving gender equality. The stats and figures are even more stark when you look at the representation of womxn of colour. How do we move away from an industry that still functions as a gatekeeping gentlemen's club to an open, inclusive space where womxn’s potential and talent can blossom to its fullest potential? Join us as two womxn talk about their experiences around representation in the music scene in Brussels and beyond.

in French
hosted by Nadia Kara

Sara Dziri comes in layers. First as a DJ, then as a producer, an organizer and a composer, she’s grown into an all-round electronic artist, bringing her unique musical space to clubs and contemporary opera halls alike. 2022 has been a key year, with a performance composition for Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, a DJ residency at Fuse and the release of Close To Home, her first full-length album on Optimo Music.

Soumaya Phéline has been active as a promoter and DJ in Brussels’ music scene since 2006 (High Needs Low, Club Detour, and as a regular on Kiosk Radio). She is part of Psst Mlle, an intersectional feminist platform promoting underrepresented artists and deconstructing the dance floor. Heavy with bass, breaks, mesmerizing melodies and rhythmic vocals, Soumaya’s sets distort and disturb in a way that’s strangely satisfying.

Born in Liege from an Algerian father and a German-Belgian mother, Nadia Kara grew up surrounded by a mix of cultures and influences. Observing the world, seeking her place throughout her youth, she developed an urge to understand people and create ways to connect with them. After studying media and communication, the multifaceted young woman relocated to Flanders, where she gained new perspectives on the dynamics of her homeland. Constantly questioning and educating herself, Nadia developed a talent for opening up constructive dialogue about serious matters, and currently works as a writer, podcaster and host. Her favourite subjects to talk about include mental health, feminism, diversity and sustainability, which she always treats with a personal and vulnerable approach.
https://www.instagram.com/nadiakara/

Tashweesh festival
Women of Colour in the Music Industry

conversations

Women of Colour in the Music Industry

TASHWEESH FESTIVAL conversation
SA 08.10 19:00

Des fxmmes de couleur percent la bulle misogyne de l'industrie musicale. Avec Sara Dziri et Soumaya Phéline.

L'égalité des sexes est loin d'être atteinte dans l'industrie musicale. Les statistiques et les chiffres sont encore plus frappants si l’on considère la représentation des fxmmes de couleur. Comment passer d'une industrie qui fonctionne comme un club masculin à un espace ouvert et inclusif où les fxmmes peuvent exprimer leurs talents et leur potentiel ? Rejoignez-nous pour écouter deux fxmmes parler de leurs expériences en matière de représentation sur la scène musicale de Bruxelles et d'ailleurs.

en français 
moderé par Nadia Kara

Sara Dziri a plusieurs cordes à son arc. D'abord DJ, puis productrice, organisatrice et compositrice, elle est devenue une artiste électronique à part entière faisant vibrer les clubs comme les salles d'opéra avec son univers musical unique. 2022 s'est avérée une année charnière, avec une composition/performance pour Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, une résidence de DJ au Fuse et la sortie de Close To Home, son premier album intégral sur Optimo Music. 

Soumaya Phéline a été active comme programmatrice et DJ sur la scène musicale bruxelloise depuis 2006 (High Needs Low, Club Detour, et régulièrement sur Kiosk Radio). Elle fait partie de Psst Mlle, une plateforme féministe intersectionnelle qui promeut les artistes sous-représenté•es en déconstruisant le dancefloor. Chargés en basses, en breaks, en mélodies envoûtantes et en voix rythmées, les sets de Soumaya déforment et dérangent d'une manière étrangement satisfaisante.

Née à Liège d'un père algérien et d'une mère germano-belge, Nadia Kara a grandi entourée d'un mélange de cultures et d'influences. Observatrice cherchant sa place tout au long de sa jeunesse, elle a développé une envie de comprendre les gens et de créer des moyens de se connecter avec eux. Après avoir étudié les médias et la communication, la jeune femme aux multiples facettes s'installe en Flandre, où elle acquiert de nouvelles perspectives sur la dynamique de son pays natal - the good, the bad and the ugly. Au fil des remises en question et des enseignements, Nadia développe un talent pour aborder des sujets sérieux dans des dialogues constructifs, ce qui l'amène à travailler en tant qu'écrivaine, podcasteuse et animatrice. Ses sujets de prédilection sont la santé mentale, le féminisme, la diversité et le développement durable, qu'elle traite toujours avec une vulnérabilité toute personnelle.
https://www.instagram.com/nadiakara/