music performance film expo conversations dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
Q-O2 Concerts
Andrea Parkins (US) & Glück


Andrea Parkins (US) & Glück

WE 18.04.2012 20:30

Experimenting with purcussion and accordeon

The first Q-O2 set will be undertaken by the American composer Andrea Parkins, who is known for the unique approach to her electronic accordion and her highly inventive live sound manipulation.
In the second set the European percussion ensemble Glück goes in search of expanding possibilities for percussion instruments through improvisation and instant composition.


Andrea Parkins (electric accordion, objects, electronics) performs Faulty (broken acts), a live re-imagining of her immersive site-based work, Faulty (broken orbit). An exploration of mic’ed surfaces and amplified quotidian objects (collected, invented, imagined or implied), activated into movement and then layered against a shifting, slowly settling field of electronic feedback and live-processed instruments, Faulty (broken acts) sets out to build elaborate and precarious systems in the manner of inventor Rube Goldberg’s circuitous machines, which Parkins cites as inspiration for her customized sound processing as well as her sonic architecture: emphasizing idiosyncrasy and awkwardness, movement from fracture to stillness, tenuous states and the threat of things falling apart.


Andrea Parkins is a sound/installation artist, composer, and electroacousticimproviser who engages with interactive electronics as acompositional/performative process, exploring strategies related to Fluxus' ordered, yet ephemeral activities. She composes electroacoustic solo and chamber pieces, sound for dance and video, and multi-diffusion performance/installations. Her work has been presented at the Whitney Museum of American Art, The Kitchen, Diapason sound gallery, and Experimental Intermedia; and at contemporary music and sound festivals including the 1st International Sound Art festival in Mexico City, Unsound in Krakow, and NEXT in Bratislava.

Parkins performs worldwide as a solo artist, and in wide-ranging improvisational collaborations with innovators such as Otomo Yoshihide, David Watson, John Butcher, and Lê Quan Ninh, among many others. Her work can be heard on recordings on labels including Important Records, hatology, Atavistic, and Creative Sources. On an ongoing basis, Parkins develops her primary performance project, a series of interactive audio/visual works inspired by Rube Goldberg's circuitous machines. Parkins' work has received support from American Composers Forum, New York State Council on the Arts, the French-American Cultural Exchange, Meet the Composer, Harvestworks Digital Media Arts Center, and the Frei und Hanseastadt Hamburg Kulturbehoerde in Germany.

1e set: Andrea Parkins (US) (-accordeon/electronics)
2e set: Glück (Enrico Malatesta (IT), Christian Wolfarth (CH),
Michael Vorfeld (D), Ingar Zach (NO), Burkhard Beins (D) - percussie)