Katja Mater 26 sun discs on 26 wrists – a performance

expo

Katja Mater 26 sun discs on 26 wrists – a performance

performance
27 NOV — 16 DEC 2023

Artist Katja Mater invites the Beursschouwburg team to move with solar time.

 

 

"Dear Beursschouwburg staff member,

   During the week of the 27th of November until the 3rd of December 2023 I would like to invite you to be part of a performance.

   A one week long performance for the Beursschouwburg audience, by you.
   Or perhaps, rather a week long performance by you, for you.

   I would like to invite you to wear a wrist sun disc for this one week, both in and outside of the Beursschouwburg, while you are working here, but also on your way to work, in the supermarket, at your friends house, in the park. And off course (this is important) only if you would like to participate.

   Regular watches tell us the indifferent time of the modern 24-hour system – a system that artificially divides our days up into regulated units that are the same everywhere, for all bodies, in all conditions, and across all seasons.* 

   These wrist sun discs have no numerical divisions. Instead, they are made with blank discs of polished brass; small, circular reflectors that shine and reflect with the shifting conditions of illumination of the sun coming into the building throughout the day. And with the artificial indoor lighting of the Beursschouwburg's many lamps after sundown.

   An invitation to move with solar time and surrender to the body clock by stepping back from, and operating in resistance of monorhythmic, linear structured greenwich mean time, with its colonial politics of measurement and its capital demands of punctuality, productivity and efficiency.

   These watches will be telling a time that is determined by the orientations and the movements of your body. On brighter days, the time on these watches will shine brighter. If you stand by the window or under a blazing theater lamp the watch might tell a time of brilliant sparkel and fleeting flashes.*

Thank you for considering,

Yours,
Katja Mater"

 

*excepts from the essay for They (The Hours) by Amelia Groom.

 

Katja Mater is a visual artist, editor, organizer and educator who studied at the Gerrit Rietveld Academy and subsequently at the postdoctoral instituut de Ateliers in Amsterdam, with a practice that focuses on the parameters of photography and film as non-transparent media. By creating hybrids between photography, film, drawing, performance and installation Mater documents something that is often positioned beyond our human ability to see.

Next to a solo practice as a visual artist Katja is involved in different collaborative projects as editor of Girls Like Us Magazine since 2014 and as one of the founding member of Mothers & Daughters, a Lesbian* and Trans* Bar.

Katja Mater is represented by LambdaLambdaLambda, Prishtina.

Katja Mater 26 sun discs on 26 wrists – a performance

expo

Katja Mater 26 sun discs on 26 wrists – a performance

performance
27 NOV — 16 DEC 2023

L'artiste Katja Mater invite l'équipe du Beursschouwburg à se déplacer avec le temps solaire.

 

"Cher·e membre du personnel de BSB,

   Durant la semaine du 27 novembre au 3 décembre 2023, j'aimerais t'inviter à faire partie d'une performance.

   Une performance d'une semaine pour le public du Beursschouwburg, par toi.
   Ou peut-être plutôt une performance d'une semaine par toi, pour toi.

   J'aimerais t'inviter à porter un disque solaire au poignet pendant cette semaine, à la fois à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur du Beursschouwburg, pendant tes heures de travail, mais aussi sur le chemin pour venir ici, au supermarché, chez tes amix, dans le parc. Ceci bien sûr (c'est important), seulement si tu le souhaites.

   Les montres ordinaires nous indiquent l'heure indifférente du système moderne de 24 heures : un système qui divise artificiellement nos journées en unités réglementées qui sont les mêmes partout, pour tous les corps, dans toutes les conditions et en toute saison.*

   Ces disques solaires pour poignet, en revanche, n'ont pas de divisions numériques. Ils sont fabriqués avec des disques vierges en laiton poli ; des petits réflecteurs circulaires brillent et se reflètent selon l'évolution de la lumière du soleil tout au long de la journée. Et même avec l'éclairage intérieur artificiel des nombreuses lampes du Beursschouwburg après que le soleil se soit couché.

   Ceci est donc une invitation à se déplacer avec le temps solaire et à s'abandonner à l'horloge biologique, à prendre du recul et à résister au temps moyen de Greenwich, mono-rythmique et linéaire, à sa politique coloniale de mesure et ses exigences capitales de ponctualité, de productivité et d'efficacité.

   Ces montres indiqueront une heure déterminée par les orientations et les mouvements de ton corps. Par temps lumineux, l'heure brillera plus fort. En te tenant près d'une fenêtre ou sous les feux d'une lampe de théâtre, la montre pourrait indiquer une heure faite d'étincelles brillantes et d'éclairs fugaces.*

Merci d'y penser,

Bien à toi,
Katja Mater"

 

*Extraits de l'essai pour They (The Hours) d'Amelia Groom.

 

Katja Mater est une artiste visuelle, une éditrice, une organisatrice et une éducatrice qui a étudié à l'Académie Gerrit Rietveld, puis à l'Institut postdoctoral de Ateliers à Amsterdam, et dont la pratique se concentre sur les paramètres de la photographie et du film en tant que médias non transparents. En créant des hybrides entre la photographie, le film, le dessin, la performance et l'installation, Mater documente quelque chose qui se situe souvent au-delà de notre capacité humaine à voir.

En plus de sa pratique solo en tant qu'artiste visuelle, Katja est impliquée dans différents projets collaboratifs en tant qu'éditrice du magazine Girls Like Us depuis 2014 et en tant que membre fondateur de Mothers & Daughters, un bar lesbien* et trans*.
Katja Mater est représentée par  LambdaLambdaLambda, Prishtina.