music performance expo conversations dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
BÂTARD FESTIVAL Into the pores of the brains
Dounia Mahammed w a t e r w a s w a s s e r

performance

Dounia Mahammed w a t e r w a s w a s s e r

theater performance
WE 01.11.2017 20:30 - 21:30 Performance
TH 02.11.2017 19:00 - 20:00 Performance

What would happen if we were to look at every living being the way we look at an enigma, something that wants to be solved? 

 How would we deal with reality? In these times without time to take time, Dounia wants to stop and take time, to allow emptiness to exist and observe anew from that emptiness. She found inspiration in Zen Buddhism, taoism, tea rituals and the stilled, poetical work of the German artist Wolfgang Laib.

Dounia looks for new ways to communicate through a formal game using space, time, movement and voice: a choreography for one hand, or language that becomes pure sound. She is striving for a fanciful shift between extremes: light exists alongside dark, or heavy. We would not appreciate peace and quiet without disquiet. No silence without sound to make that silence audible.

Solving a mystery is linked to the here and now. It requires us to engage actively and keenly with different elements. Because things are changeable, and people enduring. But it is not about answers. It is about questions. w a t e r w a s w a s s e r is a question.

concept, tekst en spel: Dounia Mahammed
muziek: Alan Van Rompuy
artistiek advies: Tine Van Aerschot, Dries Douibi & Simon D'huyvetter
scenografie: Koen Demeyere & Dounia Mahammed
lichtontwerp: Timme Afschrift
techniek: Simon D'huyvetter
productie: wpZimmer (Antwerpen)
coproductie: C-Takt (Neerpelt), Vooruit (Gent), BUDA (Kortrijk), C-Mine (Genk) – residentiesteun: Gouvernement (Gent), KAAP (Brugge), BUDA (Kortrijk), Arsenaal / Lazarus (Mechelen), Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek (Brussel)
met de steun van: de Vlaamse Gemeenschap
met dank aan: Jakob Ampe, Kosi Hidama, Jan Van Damme, Bram Geldhof, Tom Callemin

You might also like:

music performance film expo dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
BÂTARD FESTIVAL Into the pores of the brains
Dounia Mahammed w a t e r w a s w a s s e r

performance

Dounia Mahammed w a t e r w a s w a s s e r

theater performance
WE 01.11.2017 20:30 - 21:30 Performance
TH 02.11.2017 19:00 - 20:00 Performance

Que se passerait-il si nous regardions tous les êtres vivant comme des énigmes, comme quelque chose qui pourrait être résolu ? 

Comment traiterions-nous la réalité ? En ces temps sans temps pour prendre le temps, Dounia souhaite s’arrêter et prendre le temps de permettre au vide d’exister et de l’observer à nouveau. Son inspiration vient du bouddhisme zen, du taoïsme, des rituels du thé et du travail poétique et sage de l’artiste Allemand Wolfgang Laib.

Dounia est à la recherche de nouvelles façons de communiquer à travers un jeu utilisant l’espace, le temps, le mouvement et la voix : une chorégraphie pour une main où le langage devient son pure. Elle s’efforce de faire un changement fantastique entre des extrêmes : la lumière existant au côté du noir. Nous n’aimerions pas la tranquillité et la paix sans trouble. Pas de silence sans un son qui permet au silence d’être audible. 

Résoudre un mystère est lié à l’ici et maintenant. Cela nous engage activement et profondément avec différents éléments. Parce que les choses changent, et les gens persistent. Mais il ne s’agit pas de réponses. Il s’agit de questions. w a t e r w a s w a s s e r est une question.

concept, tekst en spel: Dounia Mahammed
muziek: Alan Van Rompuy
artistiek advies: Tine Van Aerschot, Dries Douibi & Simon D'huyvetter
scenografie: Koen Demeyere & Dounia Mahammed
lichtontwerp: Timme Afschrift
techniek: Simon D'huyvetter
productie: wpZimmer (Antwerpen)
coproductie: C-Takt (Neerpelt), Vooruit (Gent), BUDA (Kortrijk), C-Mine (Genk) – residentiesteun: Gouvernement (Gent), KAAP (Brugge), BUDA (Kortrijk), Arsenaal / Lazarus (Mechelen), Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek (Brussel)
met de steun van: de Vlaamse Gemeenschap
met dank aan: Jakob Ampe, Kosi Hidama, Jan Van Damme, Bram Geldhof, Tom Callemin