Telling Tales. Towards Antifascist Futures

Read more

Stories are an integral part of worldmaking; they inform and shape our way of relating to the world and to others, while drawing out a picture of the good, the evil and the misfit. Controlling the means of story-making is a central stake in any authoritarian or fascist regime, in order to depict a world where there is no alternative to its withholding of power. Stories and history are monitored through school curricula, political propaganda, univocal tradition, censorship in the arts and the media… Nevertheless, stories also circulate through the anecdotes we relate to friends, the stories we tell children at bedtime, the stories we secretly keep to ourselves or the ones we whisper on a pillow. “Narrating the world is narrating how we intend to modify it”, this quote by Wu Ming opens a chapter of the recently published book Entering Antiracist Pedagogies, reminding us that stories, and their transmission, are a powerful means for social change and for the transformation of dominant paradigms.

How to be multiple when togetherness is perceived as a threat? How to carry on transmitting quiet narratives when the loud and spectacular take up all the space? Telling Tales gathers artists, teachers, researchers and storytellers whose practices resist the monopoly of a single narrative characteristic of fascist rule.

The intimate correlation of author and authority – two words that share the same etymological root – is made visible in how power seeks ownership of narratives. With this chapter, we wish to question and challenge monolithic, often-times simplified discourses with an invitation to delve into the deep and fugitive waters of memory. During three days, we share multiple storylines and testimonies while practising a sense of togetherness through touch, listening and imagination.

With Sónia Vaz Borges & Filipa César, Endi Tupja, Jota Mombaça, Costanza Spina, nadjim bigou-fathi and soto labor, Myriam Lefkowitz, Alex Reynolds, Panamby, Mlondiwethu Dubazane, Hoda Siahtiri, Peggy Pierrot, Manel Ben Boubaker, Shayma Nader, Lucile Saada Choquet, Dénètem Touam Bona.

Telling Tales. Towards Antifascist Futures

Read more

Les histoires façonnent notre conception du monde : elles informent nos manières d'être et d'être ensemble, tout en dressant un portrait du bien, du mal et de la marginalité. Le contrôle des moyens de production d'histoires est un enjeu central pour tout régime autoritaire ou fasciste, afin de dépeindre un monde où il n'y a pas d'alternative à sa mainmise sur le pouvoir. L'histoire et les histoires existent sous le joug des programmes scolaires, de la propagande politique, de la tradition univoque, de la censure artistique et médiatique... Mais les histoires circulent aussi à travers les anecdotes partagées avec des ami·e·s, les histoires racontées aux enfants à l'heure du coucher, celles que nous gardons secrètes ou que nous chuchotons sur un oreiller. « Raconter le monde, c'est raconter nos intentions de le modifier », cette citation de Wu Ming ouvre un chapitre de l’ouvrage récent ‘Entering Antiracist Pedagogies’, nous rappelant que la transmission d’histoires constitue un moyen puissant de changement social et de transformation des paradigmes dominants. 

Comment être multiple quand le rassemblement est perçu comme une menace ? Comment continuer à transmettre des histoires discrètes lorsque les récits forts et spectaculaires occupent tout l'espace ? ‘Telling Tales’ rassemble des artistes, des enseignant·e·s, des chercheur·euse·s et des conteur·euse·s dont les pratiques résistent au monopole du récit unique, caractéristique de tout régime fasciste.

La corrélation intime entre auteur et autorité, deux mots qui partagent la même racine étymologique, se manifeste dans la manière dont le pouvoir cherche à s'approprier les récits. Avec ce chapitre, nous souhaitons remettre en question et contester les discours monolithiques, souvent simplifiés, en plongeant dans les eaux profondes et fugitives de la mémoire. Pendant trois jours, nous partageons des histoires et des témoignages multiples tout en se rassemblant à travers le toucher, l'écoute et l'imagination.

Avec Sónia Vaz Borges & Filipa César, Endi Tupja, Jota Mombaça, Costanza Spina, nadjim bigou-fathi and soto labor, Myriam Lefkowitz, Alex Reynolds, Panamby, Mlondiwethu Dubazane, Hoda Siahtiri, Peggy Pierrot, Manel Ben Boubaker, Shayma Nader, Lucile Saada Choquet, Dénètem Touam Bona.

Programme détaillé à venir.