The Work We Share w/ Cinenova

film

The Work We Share w/ Cinenova

looped screening listening
WE 06.03 13:00 - 17:00
TH 07.03 13:00 - 17:00
FR 08.03 13:00 - 17:00
SA 09.03 12:00 - 18:00

An exchange between artists from different generations embarking on parallel journeys that question blackness, its voices and rhythms.

Two works from 'The Work We Share', a public programme of newly digitised films from the Cinenova collection addressing representations of gender, race, sexuality, health and community. The films are captioned by Collective Text, and supported by response commissions from contemporary artists and writers.  This programme intends to acknowledge the interdependency from organisation, to filmmakers, cultural workers, communities, and individuals.

In their own cinematic and sonic languages, Onyeka Igwe, L. Franklin Gilliam and S. Pearl Sharp embark on parallel journeys toward the self. A substance grounded in multitude, transient yet very much present in its blackness, its voiceness, its persistent movement and rhythms. 

 

In the cinema these works are shown on loop:

Portrait of self presences, Onyeka Igwe (UK, 2022, 5 min)
A quadraphonic sound work evoking the text 'A Many Selved Portrait', written in response to L.Franklin Gilliam's film 'Now Pretend' and after conversation with the filmmaker. 

 

Now Pretend, L.Franklin Gilliam (USA, 1991, 10 min)
'Now Pretend' is an experimental investigation into the use of race as an arbitrary signifier. Drawing upon language, personal memories, and the 1959 text, Black Like Me, it deals with Lacan’s 'mirror stage' theory of self-perception and the movement from object to subject.

 

Back Inside Herself, S. Pearl Sharp (USA, 1984, 4 min) 
Described by S. Pearl Sharp as 'a visual poem on identity', 'Back Inside Herself' shows a Black woman finding her own sense of self and rejecting hegemonic societal expectations of who she should be and how she should behave. Featuring Barbara-O Jones (Daughters of the Dust).

 

These accompanying texts can be found outside the cinema:

A Many Selfed Portrait, Onyeka Igwe: An experimental text responding to the film Now Pretend, and resulting from a conversation Onyeka had with L.Franklin.

On the Inside, Sarah Lasoye: accompanying the film Back Inside Herself.
 

 

Onyeka Igwe is a London born & based moving image artist and researcher. Her work is aimed at the question: how do we live together? Not to provide a rigid answer as such, but to pull apart the nuances of mutuality and co-existence in our deeply individualized world. Onyeka’s practice figures sensorial, spatial and counter-hegemonic ways of knowing as central to that task. She is interested in the prosaic and everyday aspects of black livingness. For her, the body, archives and narratives both oral and textual act as a mode of enquiry that makes possible the exposition of overlooked histories . The work comprises untying strands and threads, anchored by a rhythmic editing style, as well as close attention to the dissonance, reflection and amplification that occurs between image and sound.
https://onyekaigwe.com/


S. Pearl Sharp’s work focuses on cultural arts, health and Black Diaspora history including the poetry short 'Back Inside Herself' (1984 and 2009 Re-mix), the semi-animated 'Picking Tribes' (1988), the celebrated 'The Healing Passage/Voices From The Water' (2004) and directing numerous documentaries for the City of Los Angeles’ CH 35. Her films have screened in Norway, China, Britain, the Caribbean and at FESPACO. Instigating through art and activism she authored the non-fiction books 'Black Women For Beginners' and 'The Evening News', four volumes of poetry, and in 2021 she released the short poetry video 'Blood Bank'.
https://spearlsharp.com/

 

L.Franklin Gilliam believes that, in a broken world, the vision and creativity of artists are critical to transformative systems change. Gilliam’s creative practice is research-based and multidisciplinary. It has taken the form of film/video art, installation, games, and illustrated lectures. Gilliam’s projects explore the interplay between obsolete technology formats and the faulty transmission of historical knowledge and difference. Their projects have been screened and presented at the 1997 Whitney Biennial, the New Museum, Oberhausen Short Film Festival, and featured in Anäis Duplan’s BLACKSPACE: On the Poetics of an Afrofuture (2020). Gilliam’s role-playing game, 'Lesberation', premiered at New York University Game Center’s No Quarter exhibition in 2015.Sarah Lasoye is a poet and writer from London. She is an alumna of the Barbican Young Poets and a current member of Octavia – Poetry Collective for Women of Colour. Her debut chapbook, 'Fovea / Ages Ago', was published by Hajar Press in April 2021.
https://www.instagram.com/sarahfovea/

 

Cinenova is a volunteer-run organisation preserving and distributing the work of feminist film and video makers. Cinenova was founded in 1991 following the merger of two feminist film and video distributors, Circles and Cinema of Women, each formed in 1979. Cinenova currently distributes over 300 titles that include artists’ moving image, experimental film, narrative feature films, documentary and educational videos made from the 1910’s to the early 2000’s. The thematics in these titles include oppositional histories, post and de-colonial struggles, representation of gender, race, sexuality, and other questions of difference and importantly the relations and alliances between these different struggles. Since 2001, Cinenova has been organised by a group of volunteers who oversee the ongoing preservation and distribution of the collection, as well as special projects that seek to question the conditions of the organisation.
https://cinenova.org/

 

 

image 1 | courtesy of L.Franklin Gilliam and Cinenova Distribution
image 2 | courtesy of S. Pearl Sharp and Cinenova Distribution

The Work We Share w/ Cinenova

film

The Work We Share w/ Cinenova

looped screening listening
6 MAR — 9 MAR

Un échange entre artistes de différentes générations embarqués dans des voyages parallèles interrogeant la noirceur, ses voix et ses rythmes.

Deux œuvres issues de 'The Work We Share', un programme public de films nouvellement numérisés de la collection de Cinenova, autour des représentations du genre, de la race, de la sexualité, de la santé et de la communauté. Les films sont sous-titrés par Collective Text, et soutenus par des réponses commandées à des artistes et écrivain·e·s contemporain·e·s. Ce programme vise à souligner l'interdépendance des organisations, des cinéastes, des travailleur·euse·s culturel·le·s, des communautés et des individus.

Dans leurs propres langages cinématographiques et sonores, Onyeka Igwe, L. Franklin Gilliam et S. Pearl Sharp entreprennent des voyages parallèles vers le soi. Une substance ancrée dans la multitude, éphémère mais bien présente dans sa noirceur, sa voix, son mouvement et ses rythmes persistants.

 

Les œuvres suivantes seront projetées en boucle dans le cinéma :

Portrait of self presences, Onyeka Igwe (UK, 2022, 5 min)
Une œuvre sonore quadriphonique évoquant le texte 'A Many Selved Portrait' écrit en réponse au film 'Now Pretend' de L.Franklin Gilliam et après une conversation avec le cinéaste.

 

Now Pretend, L.Franklin Gilliam (USA, 1991, 10 min)
'Now Pretend' est une enquête expérimentale sur l'utilisation de la race comme signifiant arbitraire. À partir d'éléments de langage, de souvenirs personnels et du texte de 1959 'Black Like Me', le film aborde la théorie du « stade du miroir » de Lacan sur la perception de soi et le passage de l'objet au sujet.

'Now Pretend' est accompagné d'une réponse écrite d'Onyeka Igwe.

 

Back Inside Herself, S. Pearl Sharp (États-Unis, 1984, 4 minutes)
Décrit par S. Pearl Sharp comme « un poème visuel sur l'identité », 'Back Inside Herself' présente une femme noire dont la quête d'une identité propre l'amène à rejeter les attentes hégémoniques de la société sur sa façon d'être et de se comporter. Avec Barbara-O Jones (Daughters of the Dust).

'Back Inside Herself' est accompagné d'une réponse écrite de Sarah Lasoye.

 

Les textes accompagnant les films sont disponibles à l'extérieur du cinéma :


A Many Selfed Portrait, Onyeka Igwe : Un texte expérimental répondant au film 'Now Pretend', et résultant d'une conversation qu'Onyeka a eue avec L.Franklin.

On the Inside, Sarah Lasoye : accompagnant le film Back Inside Herself.

 

 

Onyeka Igwe est une artiste de l'image animée et une chercheuse originaire de Londres. Son travail interroge le vivre-ensemble. Sans vouloir trouver de réponse rigide, son travail cherche à cerner les nuances de la réciprocité et de la coexistence dans un monde profondément individualisé. La pratique d'Onyeka considère les modes de connaissance sensoriels, spatiaux et contre-hégémoniques comme essentiels à cette tâche. Elle s'intéresse aux aspects prosaïques et quotidiens de la vie des Noir·e·s. Pour elle, le corps, les archives et la transmission constituent un mode d'enquête pour exposer les histoires négligées. Son travail consiste à dénouer les fils sur un montage rythmé, avec une attention particulière à la dissonance, aux reflets et à l'amplification entre l'image et le son.
https://onyekaigwe.com/

 

Le travail de S. Pearl Sharp se concentre sur les arts culturels, la santé et l'histoire de la diaspora noire. On y retrouve le court métrage de poésie ‘Back Inside Herself’ (1984 et son Re-mix de 2009), le film semi-animé ‘Picking Tribes’ (1988), le renommé ‘The Healing Passage/Voices From The Water’ (2004) et la réalisation de nombreux documentaires pour le CH 35 de la ville de Los Angeles. Ses films ont été projetés en Norvège, en Chine, en Grande-Bretagne, dans les Caraïbes et au FESPACO. Embrassant à la fois l'art et l'activisme, elle est l'auteure des ouvrages ‘Black Women For Beginners’ et ‘The Evening News’ (quatre volumes de poésie). En 2021, elle publie la courte vidéo de poésie 'Blood Bank'.
https://spearlsharp.com/

 

L.Franklin Gilliam estime que la vision et la créativité des artistes sont essentielles à la transformation des systèmes dans un monde brisé. La pratique créative de Gilliam est multidisciplinaire et axée sur la recherche. Elle prend la forme de films/vidéos, d'installations, de jeux et de conférences illustrées. Les projets de Gilliam explorent l'interaction entre les formats technologiques obsolètes et la transmission imparfaite des connaissances et des différences historiques. Ses réalisations ont été projetées et présentées à la Biennale du Whitney de 1997, au New Museum, au Festival du court métrage d'Oberhausen, et figurent dans l'ouvrage ‘BLACKSPACE: On the Poetics of an Afrofuture’ (2020) d'Anäis Duplan. Le jeu de rôle de Gilliam ‘Lesberation’, a été présenté pour la première fois à l'exposition ‘No Quarter’ du New York University Game Center en 2015.

 

Sarah Lasoye est une poétesse et une écrivaine londonienne. Elle est une ancienne élève des Barbican Young Poets et  membre actuel d'Octavia - Poetry Collective for Women of Colour. Son premier chapbook, ‘Fovea / Ages Ago’, a été publié par Hajar Press en avril 2021.
https://www.instagram.com/sarahfovea/

 

Cinenova est une organisation bénévole dont l’objectif est de préserver et distribuer le travail de cinéastes et vidéastes féministes. Cinenova a été fondée en 1991 suite à la fusion de deux distributeurs de films et de vidéos féministes, Circles et Cinema of Women, chacun formé en 1979. Cinenova distribue actuellement plus de 300 titres qui comprennent des images animées d'artistes, des films expérimentaux, des longs métrages narratifs, des documentaires et des vidéos éducatives réalisés entre les années 1910 et le début des années 2000. Les thèmes abordés vont des histoires oppositionnelles aux luttes post- et décoloniales, en passant par la représentation du genre, de l'origine, de la sexualité et d'autres questions liées à la différence, sans oublier les rapports et les convergences entre ces différentes luttes. Depuis 2001, Cinenova est organisé par un groupe de bénévoles qui supervise la préservation et la distribution de la collection, ainsi que des projets spéciaux visant à évaluer le cadre de l'organisation.
https://cinenova.org/

 

 

image 1 | courtesy of L.Franklin Gilliam and Cinenova Distribution
image 2 | courtesy of S. Pearl Sharp and Cinenova Distribution