Eva Giolo, Rebecca Jane Arthur, Katja Mater, Sirah Foighel Brutmann, Eitan Efrat, Maaike Neuville Yours

film

Eva Giolo, Rebecca Jane Arthur, Katja Mater, Sirah Foighel Brutmann, Eitan Efrat, Maaike Neuville Yours

looped screening
17 APR — 20 APR

A kaleidoscopic film by six artists in dialogue with (the work of) Belgian film legend Chantal Akerman.

YOURS, 
one collective process, five films, in homage to Chantal Akerman
directed by Eva Giolo, Rebecca Jane Arthur, Katja Mater, Sirah Foighel Brutmann, Eitan Efrat, Maaike Neuville

2023, 82’, VO EN, FR, NL & ST EN, NL

A group of artists were invited to be inspired by the work of the well-known, Belgian filmmaker Chantal Akerman, specifically her film 'News from Home' (1976). The busy city of New York serves as the film’s main character. Meanwhile, we hear Akerman’s voice reading letters from her mother in Brussels. She recounts daily anecdotes from the home front and increasingly urgent requests for news from New York. 

The artists made one film together: each with their own voice, style, and starting point. During the working process, questions arose such as: how do you as an artist relate to another film practice, how do you create a collective work while maintaining your individuality? 

You’ll see no less than five different films within one kaleidoscopic film: 'Stone, Hat, Ribbon and Rose' by Eva Giolo, 'Barefoot Birthdays on Unbreakable Glass' by Rebecca Jane Arthur, 'When Things Fall Apart' by Katja Mater, 'Un Âne' by the artistic duo Sirah Foighel Brutmann and Eitan Efrat, and 'The possibility of being sea' by Maaike Neuville. Details such as letters and metros, and themes such as dislocation, detached city life, alienation versus feeling at home, distance versus proximity, and the mother-daughter relationship echo Akerman’s films. Unfortunately, the artists are no longer able to engage directly with the filmmaker, who passed away in 2015. However, this joint work attests to a way of engaging in dialogue with her work.

 

 

the collective process was moderated by Fairuz Ghammam | producer Andrea Cinel  | post-production management Esteban Lloret Linares & Fairuz Ghammam | grading Miléna Trivier | mixing Laszlo Umbreit  | credits Maaike Beuten | facilities: argos centre for audiovisual arts, beursschouwburg, Bruits, Cobalt, Color by Dejonghe, elephy, Empire Digital, LABO BXL, Stempel, Studio Baxton | subtitling The Subtitling Company | produced by kunstencentrum nona in the context of C0N10UR | with the support of: The Flanders Audiovisual Fund (VAF), KAAP, argos centre for audiovisual arts, Messidor, elephy, Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Belgium

Eva Giolo, Rebecca Jane Arthur, Katja Mater, Sirah Foighel Brutmann, Eitan Efrat, Maaike Neuville Yours

film

Eva Giolo, Rebecca Jane Arthur, Katja Mater, Sirah Foighel Brutmann, Eitan Efrat, Maaike Neuville Yours

looped screening
17 APR — 20 APR

Film kaléidoscopique de six artistes en dialogue avec (l'œuvre de) la légende du cinéma belge Chantal Akerman.

YOURS,
un processus collectif, cinq films, en hommage à Chantal Akerman
réalisé par Eva Giolo, Rebecca Jane Arthur, Katja Mater, Sirah Foighel Brutmann, Eitan Efrat, Maaike Neuville

2023, 82’, VO EN, FR, NL & ST EN, NL

Un groupe d’artistes est invité à s’inspirer du travail de la célèbre cinéaste belge Chantal Akerman, et en particulier du film News from Home (1976). La trépidante ville de New York constitue le personnage principal du film, et on entend la voix d’Akerman qui lit des lettres de sa mère à Bruxelles : elle raconte des anecdotes quotidiennes de chez elle et demande de façon de plus en plus pressante de nouvelles de New York. 

Les artistes ont réalisé ensemble un film : chacun avec sa propre voix, son propre style et son propre point de départ. Au cours du processus de travail, des questions surgissent, telles que « comment, en tant qu’artiste, se situer par rapport à la pratique cinématographique de quelqu’un d’autre ? » ou « comment créer une œuvre collective tout en conservant son individualité ? »

Vous découvrez pas moins de cinq films différents dans un film kaléidoscopique : 'Stone, Hat, Ribbon and Rose' d’Eva Giolo, 'Barefoot Birthdays on Unbreakable Glass' de Rebecca Jane Arthur, 'When Things Fall Apart' de Katja Mater, 'Un Âne' du duo d’artistes Sirah Foighel Brutmann et Eitan Efrat et 'The possibility of being sea' de Maaike Neuville. Des détails littéraires tels que des lettres et des métros, et des thèmes comme le déracinement, le détachement de la vie urbaine, le sentiment d’étrangeté versus celui d’être chez soi, la distance versus la proximité, et la relation mère-fille font écho aux films d’Akerman. Malheureusement, les artistes ne sont plus en mesure de dialoguer directement avec la cinéaste, décédée en 2015. Cependant, ce travail commun témoigne d’une tentative d’entrer en dialogue avec son œuvre.

 

 

the collective process was moderated by Fairuz Ghammam | producer Andrea Cinel  | post-production management Esteban Lloret Linares & Fairuz Ghammam | grading Miléna Trivier | mixing Laszlo Umbreit  | credits Maaike Beuten | facilities: argos centre for audiovisual arts, beursschouwburg, Bruits, Cobalt, Color by Dejonghe, elephy, Empire Digital, LABO BXL, Stempel, Studio Baxton | subtitling The Subtitling Company | produced by kunstencentrum nona in the context of C0N10UR | with the support of: The Flanders Audiovisual Fund (VAF), KAAP, argos centre for audiovisual arts, Messidor, elephy, Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Belgium