Eden Tinto Collins Roaming the Imaginal

expo

Eden Tinto Collins Roaming the Imaginal

today
expo
25 JAN — 25 MAY

A voyage through the cosmic void, nourished by sci-fi, DIY, surrealism, magic realism and cosmology.

Eden Tinto Collins' work unfurls a cosmology inhabited by fantastic characters navigating through myth and the burlesque. The artist's imagination crosses genres, from music videos to narrative epic, crafting a flamboyant and hyperconnected world. Their films, texts, installations, paintings and performances invent scenarios "in no-fail, low-tech, DIY wor(l)ds, inspired by surrealism, magic realism, science fiction and cosmology".

'Roaming the Imaginal' is Eden Tinto Collins' first exhibition in Belgium. The project is part of the errant history of an interconnected, earthless otherworld. Roaming evades distance and invites us to explore the Imaginal world: on a cosmic seaside, the imaginary materialises. In her audiovisual installation, the artist creates a space where wandering turns into floating.

 

Eden Tinto Collins (she/they/we) developed their visual arts practise through the Ecole Nationale des Beaux-Arts de Paris Cergy. As a poet, hypermedia artist, or - Trobairitz, Méta, she explores notions of networks and interdependence, f.r.ictions between melancholy, mythology, post-trans, even cyber-humanity. Her projects are relational, noetic (to put thought and spirit in relation) and her devices take the form of installations, video performances, and works that make use of voice and orality.

Their first story, ‘Bonne Arrivée’, was published in July 2021 in the collection fraîches fictions. That same summer, they opened the Acéphale Studio, in partnership with Societies, Apes, Sequens and the association Worms Prestige in Joinville-le-Pont (Val de Marne). Together, they gave shape to a third space dedicated to co-creation, image-making and gathering. Since 2022, Eden Tinto Collins has been developing a production house that started up a number of site-specific projects, including ‘Numin’ (a space opera) and ‘A Pinch Of Kola’ (a quantum sitcom).
https://www.instagram.com/edentintocollins/

 

EXPO HANDOUT

 

Related Programme

UNTIL 07.03
Check out Eden's film 'Avant le Grand Sceau' (2024) op argos TV

SA 02.03
Writing workshop with poet, essayist and journalist Douce Dibondo

SA 11.05
Concert with Farida Amadou, Jamika Ajalon & Sophye Soliveau

SA 25.05
Finissage

 

exhibition curators | Sofia Dati & Niels Van Tomme
coproduction |  argos 
the exhibition is supported by | the Kadist Foundation & l'Institut Français
installed with | Anne Marie Himmelmann
design by | Atelier Brenda & Amélie Bakker
curatorial intern | Sina Eden

 

 

You might also like:

Eden Tinto Collins Roaming the Imaginal

expo

Eden Tinto Collins Roaming the Imaginal

today
expo
25 JAN — 25 MAY

Un voyage dans le vide cosmique, nourri de science-fiction, de bricolage, de surréalisme, de réalisme magique et de cosmologie.

 

Eden Tinto Collins déploie dans son œuvre une cosmologie habitée par des personnages fantastiques naviguant entre le mythe et le burlesque. L’imaginaire de l’artiste traverse les genres, passant du clip au récit épique, pour dessiner un univers porté par la flamboyance et l’hyperconnectivité. Ses films, textes, installations, tableaux et performances inventent des scénarios « en mo(n)de sans échec, low tech, DIY, nourris par le surréalisme, le réalisme magique, la science-fiction ou encore la cosmologie. »

‘Roaming the Imaginal’ est la première exposition de l’artiste Eden Tinto Collins en Belgique. Le projet s’inscrit dans l’histoire errante d’un ‘hors-sol’ interconnecté. Le Roaming déjoue la distance et nous invite à arpenter le monde Imaginal. Dans une atmosphère cosmique de bord de mer, l’imaginaire devient matière. Dans son installation audiovisuelle, l’artiste fabrique un espace où la déambulation se fait flottement.

 

Eden Tinto Collins (elle/iel/nous) a développé sa pratique des arts plastiques en passant par l’école nationale des beaux-arts de Paris Cergy , Poéticienne, hypermédias, ou - Trobairitz, Méta, elle explore les notions de réseaux et d'interdépendance, les f.r.ictions entre mélancolies, mythologie, post-trans, voir cyber-humanité, ses dispositifs sont relationnels, noétiques (pour mettre en relation la pensée et l’esprit) ses dispositifs prennent la forme d’installation, vidéo performances, avec une prédominance pour l’usage de la voix et de l’oralité.

Son premier récit, ‘Bonne Arrivée’ est paru en juillet 2021 dans la collection fraîches fictions. Ce même été, elle ouvre l’Acéphale Studio, en partenariat avec Societies, l’Apes, et Sequens et l’association Worms Prestige à Joinville-le-Pont (dans le Val de Marne). Un tiers-lieu dédié à la création à plusieurs mains, l’image, la rencontre . Depuis 2022, Eden Tinto Collins développe une structure de production à l’initiative de plusieurs projets in situ comme ‘Numin’ (opéra de l'espace) et ‘A Pinch Of Kola’ (sitcom quantique).
https://www.instagram.com/edentintocollins

 

EXPO HANDOUT

 

Programme en lien avec l'expo

JUSQ'AU 07.03
Découvre le film 'Avant le Grand Sceau' (2024) sur argos TV

SA 02.03
Atelier d’écriture avec la poète, essayiste, journaliste Douce Dibondo

SA 11.05
Concert avec Farida Amadou, Jamika Ajalon & Sophye Soliveau

SA 25.05
Finissage

 

commissaires d’exposition | Sofia Dati & Niels Van Tomme
coproduction |  argos 
l’exposition est soutenue par | the Kadist Foundation & l'Institut Français
installé avec | Anne Marie Himmelmann
design par | Atelier Brenda & Amélie Bakker
stagiaire en curation | Sina Eden

 

You might also like: