Herman Asselberghs Portal (Schoolwork, Vol.1)

screening coproduction
WE 23.10 20:30 avant-premiere

The first glimpse at Asselbergh's long-term project to give shape to the mess of higher arts education.

 

Herman Asselberghs now works for almost a quarter of a century at the film department of LUCA School of Arts - Campus Sint Lukas Brussel (popularly called Sint-Lukas). The turbulent context of contemporary higher arts education — some speak of the neoliberal knowledge factory — is both subject and location of his current film project. Over the next two academic years, the filmmaker plans on gleaning scenes on campus that will serve as building blocks for a longer film that has Film School Time as its working title. Wavering between observation and intervention, between documentation and invention, and fusing the lyrical and the critical, this long-term project seeks to give shape to the mess of (art) school.

In Portal (Schoolwork, Vol.1), Asselberghs lets his open working process solidify for a first and limited time. This short and exploring interim film offers a brief topographical survey. Five years after LUCA officially opened its Brussels campus, Patrick Lootens of POLO Architects guides two film students through his building on a regular school day. Architect and users (and spectators) cross each other in a labyrinth construction designed to deal with losing one’s way.

Herman Asselberghs lives and works in Brussels. His work questions the border areas between sound and image, world and media, poetry and politics. His installations and videos have been shown at the Tate Modern, Centre Pompidou, documenta X, Witte de With, among others.

augusteorts.be/about/herman-asselberghs

As part of ‘We Love You’, a multidisciplinary programme on love beyond the romantic and the self - sep oct nov dec 2019.

 

NL spoken, EN subtitles
(2019, 30’, B)

 

Produced by Auguste Orts, Sound: Kwinten Van Laethem, Image: Jo Vermaercke with Krispijn Tant & Thomas Verijke, Editing: Fairuz & Rik Chaubet, Coloring: Lennert de Taeye

Supported by Gesteund door Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie, Friends of Auguste Orts Fund, LUCA School of Arts, Intermedia Research Unit, Terrarium and Beursschouwburg

Herman Asselberghs Portal (Schoolwork, Vol.1)
film screening coproduction
WE 23.10.2019 20:30 avant-première

Dans son film entre documentaire et interprétation, Asselbergh part à la recherche d’une manière de donner forme à cette institution confuse communément appelée l’école (d’art).

Cela fera bientôt un quart de siècle qu’Herman Asselberghs est actif au sein de la formation cinématographique de la LUCA School of Arts – Campus Sint Lukas Brussels (plus communément connue sous le nom de "Sint-Lukas"). Le contexte agité des écoles d’art contemporain – certains en parlent comme une "usine à penseurs néolibéraux" – est le sujet et le lieu de tournage de son nouveau projet cinématographique. Pendant deux années académiques, il sillonna le bâtiment de l'école nichée dand le cœur de Schaerbeek, à la recherche d’images et de sons qui serviront de base à un film provisoirement intitulé Film School Tijd. Naviguant entre observation et intervention, entre documentaire et interprétation, il part à la recherche d’une manière de donner forme à cette institution confuse communément appelée l’école (d’art).

Dans Portaal (Schoolwerk, Deel 1), Asselberghs fige, pour la première fois son processus de travail, de façon temporaire. Cette œuvre intermédiaire et tactile est une description de l’endroit. Cinq ans après l’inauguration officielle du nouveau campus de Bruxelles par LUCA, l’architecte Patrick Lootens (POLO Architects) offre une visite guidée à deux étudiants un jour de semaine. Le concepteur, les utilisateurs (et spectateurs) s’entrecroisent dans un labyrinthe où on ne peut que se perdre.

Herman Asselberghs vit et travaille à Bruxelles. Son œuvre étudie les territoires limitrophes entre le son et l’image, le monde et les médias, la poésie et la politique. Ses installations et vidéos ont entre autres été exposées au Tate Modern, au Centre Pompidou, à documenta X et à Witte de With.

augusteorts.be/about/herman-asselberghs

Partie de ‘We Love You’, un programme multidisciplinaire on love beyond the romantic and the self - sep oct nov dec 2019.

 

NL spoken, EN subtitles
(2019, 30’, B)

 

Produced by Auguste Orts, Sound: Kwinten Van Laethem, Image: Jo Vermaercke with Krispijn Tant & Thomas Verijke, Editing: Fairuz & Rik Chaubet, Coloring: Lennert de Taeye

Supported by Gesteund door Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie, Friends of Auguste Orts Fund, LUCA School of Arts, Intermedia Research Unit, Terrarium and Beursschouwburg