Let's take the bus together!

film

Let's take the bus together!

film
FR 02.12 16:30

Join us for group-travelling to the Lumbung film event in Strombeek!

It takes a bus and a walk to make it to Den Douwe (part of the former Douwe Egberts coffee factory) in Strombeek. Let's do that together. 

We meet at our doorstep at 16:30, and will be back in the centre around 22:00. Travel directions and travel tickets are on us!

more about the event

Lumbung film is a repository of film and video works from lumbung members and artists. These films were screened in Kassel during the 100 days of documenta fifteen to both compliment and contextualise the artists' and members' other exhibited works.

In the 100 days following on from the close of documenta fifteen, lumbung members and artists are given the opportunity to share the films from the lumbung Film repository by organising their own screenings and events around the globe. In this way participating artists and members continue to connect inter-locally giving lumbung film an afterlife after Kassel.

As part of this afterlife, Cc Strombeek hosts lumbung film in the first weekend of December during which a selection of the film and video repository will be screened. The programme is curated by Subversive Film, an artist collective based between Brussels and Ramallah formed by Mohanad Yaqubi and Reem Shilleh. Both artists are members of the lumbung community shown at documenta in Kassel earlier this year. On this occasion, Cc Strombeek will activate another location, Den Douwe, part of the former Douwe Egberts coffee factory.

This event is organised by Cc Strombeek with the support of argos centre for audiovisual arts and beursschouwburg.

Opening: Friday 2 December, 18:00 - 22:00
Open: Saturday 3 - Sunday 4 December, 11:00 - 18:00

Tickets: 5 euro (ticket revenue directly supports participating lumbung members)

more about Subversive Film

Subversive Film is a cinema research and production collective that aims to cast new light upon historic works related to Palestine and the surrounding region, to engender support for film preservation, and to investigate archival practices. Their long-term and ongoing projects explore this cine-historic field and involve digitally reissuing previously overlooked films, curating rare film screening cycles, subtitling rediscovered films, producing publications, and devising other forms of interventions. Formed in 2011, Subversive Film is based between Ramallah and Brussels.

Mohanad Yaqubi is a filmmaker, producer, and one of the founders of the Ramallah-based production house Idioms Film. He is also a researcher at The Royal Academy of Fine Arts (KASK) in Ghent. Reem Shilleh interlaces research, moving image, curatorial, editing, archival, and writing practices to question the infinite formations of memory and collectivity. Both Reem and Mohanad are co-founders of The Kitchen in Brussels.

Let's take the bus together!

film

Let's take the bus together!

film
FR 02.12 16:30

Prévois-tu d'aller à l'ouverture de Lumbung Film à Strombeek? Allons-y ensemble !

Pour atteindre Den Douwe (ancienne usine du producteur de café Douwe Egberts) à Strombeek, il faut prendre un bus et marcher un petit bout à pieds. On y va ensemble? Rendez-vous au Beursschouwburg (rue Auguste Ortsstraat 20/28, 1000 Brussel) à 16:30. On sera de retour dans le centre vers 22:00. On vous amène à bon port et on paie vos tickets!

En savoir plus sur l'évenement

Lumbung film est une collection de films et de vidéos réalisés par des membres et des artistes de lumbung. Ces films ont été projetés pendant les 100 jours de la Documenta 15 à Kassel pour compléter et contextualiser les autres œuvres exposées des artistes et des membres.

Dans les 100 jours qui suivront la conclusion de la quinzième Documenta, les membres et artistes de lumbung auront l'occasion de partager avec le public les films de la collection lumbung film en organisant leurs propres séances et événements dans le monde entier. De cette façon, les artistes et membres participants restent en contact les uns avec les autres de manière interlocutoire, donnant au lumbung film une vie au-delà de Kassel.

Dans ce cadre, le Cc Strombeek accueillera lumbung film le premier week-end de décembre et montrera une sélection de ces films et vidéos. Le programme est organisé par Subversive Film, un collectif d'artistes travaillant à Bruxelles et à Ramallah, formé par Mohanad Yaqubi et Reem Shilleh. Les deux artistes sont membres de la communauté lumbung et leurs œuvres ont été présentées à la Documenta de Kassel au début de l'année. Pour cette occasion, Cc Strombeek active un autre lieu, Den Douwe, qui fait partie de l'ancienne usine de café Douwe Egberts.

Cet événement est organisé par Cc Strombeek avec le soutien d’argos centre pour les arts audiovisuels et de beursschouwburg.

Ouverture: vendredi 2 décembre, 18:00 - 22:00
Ouvert: samedi 3 - dimanche 4 décembre, 11:00 - 18:00

Tickets: 5 euro (les revenus soutiennent directement les membres participants de lumbung)

En savoir plus sur Subversive Film

Subversive Film est un collectif de recherche et de production cinématographique qui vise à donner un nouveau regard sur les œuvres historiques liées à la Palestine et à la région environnante, à soutenir la préservation des films et à explorer les pratiques archivistiques. Leurs projets actuels et à long terme explorent ce champ ciné-historique et comprennent la réédition numérique de films précédemment négligés, l'organisation de projections de films rares, le sous-titrage de films redécouverts, la production de publications et d'autres formes d'interventions. Subversive Film a été fondé en 2011 et est basé à Ramallah et à Bruxelles.

Mohanad Yaqubi est un cinéaste, un producteur et l'un des fondateurs de la maison de production Idioms Film, basée à Ramallah. Il est également chercheur à l'Académie royale des Beaux-Arts (KASK) de Gand. Reem Shilleh combine la recherche, l'image en mouvement, le commissariat, le montage, l'archivage et l'écriture pour interroger les formations infinies de la mémoire et de la collectivité. Reem et Mohanad sont tous les deux cofondateurs de The Kitchen à Bruxelles.