Dis Mon Nom on friendship

conversations

Dis Mon Nom on friendship

conversation workshop karaoke
SA 20.04 19:00

Discussing, thinking and singing about the diversity and power of friendship.

Best friends, distant friends, work and play friends, little or lots of friends, comrades in arms, party buddies, allies and frenemies, chosen families or casual besties – friendship comes in all shapes and sizes. All of these different friendships and how they affect our experiences and identities add up to a significant social phenomenon.

And yet, friendship is hardly ever studied. It remains surprisingly absent from knowledge institutions and cultural or political events (often shaded by romantic love or family ties).

The curatorial collective Dis Mon Nom wants to change that. Their goal is to host a multi-day friendship festival in the future. For now, it is to gather you and all of your pals to come and think, talk and workshop about friendship.

And just to spark the festival imagination, let us not forget an important detail: friendship karaoke!!!!!

 

Dis Mon Nom is a nomadic curatorial platform that organises exhibitions, conversations, performances and encounters. Founded by Déborah Claire and Erell Hemmer, both photographers and curators, Dis Mon Nom offers a retort to an overly visual (art) world that still tends to exclude certain identities and bodies. By means of intersectional, feminist and inclusive collaborations with artists, institutions and other cultural players, Dis Mon Nom calls these things by their names. Because to name them is to make them exist.
https://www.instagram.com/dismonnom_/

 

 

visual by | Johan Poezevara

Dis Mon Nom on friendship

conversations

Dis Mon Nom on friendship

conversation workshop karaoke
TH 18.04 19:00

Meilleur·e·s potes, ami·e·s d’enfance, collègues de travail ou de soirée, peu d’ami·e·s, beaucoup d'ami·e·s, camarades de lutte, allié·e·s et frenemi·e·s, familles choisies ou bestas d'occase – l'amitié se présente sous toutes les coutures. Ces différentes formes d'amitié et leur impact sur nos expériences et nos identités constituent un phénomène social de taille.

Et pourtant, l'amitié ne fait guère l'objet d'études. Elle reste étonnamment absente des institutions du savoir et des événements culturels ou politiques (où elle reste souvent dans l'ombre de l'amour romantique ou des liens familiaux).

C'est là que le collectif curatorial Dis Mon Nom intervient. Leur objectif à long terme est d'organiser un festival de l'amitié sur plusieurs jours. Pour l'instant, il s'agit de te rassembler, toi et tous·tes tes copaines, pour venir réfléchir, parler et workshopper sur l'amitié.

Et pour attiser l'imagination du festival, n'oublions pas un détail important : le karaoké de l'amitié !!!!!

 

Dis Mon Nom est une plateforme curatoriale nomade qui organise des expositions, des conversations, des performances et des rencontres. Fondée par les deux photographes et curateurs Déborah Claire et Erell Hemmer, Dis Mon Nom offre de la répartie à un monde (de l'art) parfois trop visuel, qui tend encore trop souvent à exclure certaines identités et certains corps. Par des collaborations intersectionnelles, féministes et inclusives mobilisant des artistes, des institutions et des acteurs culturels, Dis Mon Nom nomme ces choses. Parce que les nommer, c'est les faire exister.
https://www.instagram.com/dismonnom_/

 

visual by | Johan Poezevara