Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere Out of the Blue
performance premiere coproduction KFDA
TH 19.05 20:30
FR 20.05 22:00
SA 21.05 16:00
SU 22.05 17:00
SU 22.05 20:30
TU 24.05 20:30
WE 25.05 22:00

After their successful show Pleasant Island, which premiered in 2019, Silke Huysmans and Hannes Dereere will present the final part of their trilogy on mining and our relation with resources and nature.

This time, they will focus on a completely new industry: deep sea mining. In the spring of 2021, three ships converge on a remote part of the Pacific Ocean. One of them belongs to the Belgian dredging company DEME – GSR. Four kilometres below sea level, their mining robot scrapes the seabed in search of rare metals. On another ship, an international team of marine biologists closely monitors the operation. A third ship completes the fleet: on board the infamous Rainbow Warrior, Greenpeace activists protest against this possible future industry.

From their small flat in Brussels, Silke and Hannes connect via satellite to the three ships, each representing a pillar of the public debate: industry, science and activism. From a series of interviews and conversations, an intimate portrait emerges via a poetic quest. It is an attempt to capture a potentially pivotal moment in the history of the earth. How much deeper can we go and what are we as humans digging towards?

English, Dutch → NL, FR, EN
±1h
 

Presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Beursschouwburg
By and with: Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere | Dramaturgy: Dries Douibi | Outside eye: Pol Heyvaert |  Sound mix: Lieven Dousselaere | Technique: Korneel Coessens, Piet Depoortere, Koen Goossens and Babette Poncelet | Subtitles and Dutch translation: Marika Ingels | French translation: Isabelle Grynberg
Production: CAMPO | Coproduction: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Bunker-Bunker, Ljubljana, De Brakke Grond, Noorderzon – Festival of Performing Arts and Society, Zürcher Theater Spektakel, Beursschouwburg, PACT Zollverein, Théâtre de la Ville, Festival d’Automne à Paris
Residencies: KWP Kunstenwerkplaats, Pilar, Bara142 (Toestand), De Grote Post, 30CC, GC De Markten & GC Felix Sohie

Special thanks to: John Childs, Henko De Stigter, Patricia Esquete, Iason-Zois Gazis, Jolien Goossens, Matthias Haeckel, An Lambrechts, Ted Nordhaus, Maureen Penjueli, Surabhi Ranganathan, Duygu Sevilgen, Joey Tau, Saskia Van Aalst, Kris Van Nijen, Vincent Van Quickenborne and Annemiek Vink | Thanks to: all conversation partners and the people who helped with the transcriptions

image © Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere


www.kfda.be

You might also like:

Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere Out of the Blue
performance premiere coproduction KFDA
TH 19.05 20:30
FR 20.05 22:00
SA 21.05 16:00
SU 22.05 17:00
SU 22.05 20:30
TU 24.05 20:30
WE 25.05 22:00

Après le succès de Pleasant Island, Silke Huysmans et Hannes Dereere présentent pour cette édition la dernière partie de leur trilogie dédiée à l’exploitation minière et à notre relation à la nature.

Les artistes s’intéressent cette fois à une exploitation minière d’un nouveau genre : l’extraction en eaux profondes. Au printemps 2021, trois navires se rencontrent dans une zone reculée de l’océan Pacifique. L’un d’eux appartient à la société belge de dragage Deme – GSR. À 4 kilomètres de profondeur, leur robot minier sonde les fonds marins à la recherche de terres rares. L’un des deux autres navires est celui d’une équipe internationale de biologistes marin·es qui surveille de près la manœuvre. Le troisième navire de la flotte est le Rainbow Warrior, sur lequel des activistes de Greenpeace protestent contre cette future industrie potentielle.

Depuis leur petit appartement bruxellois, Silke et Hannes correspondent par satellite avec ces trois navires qui, chacun, représentent un pilier du débat public : l’industrie, la science et l’activisme. Une quête poétique menée à l’aide d’une série d’interviews et de récits dont émerge un portrait intime. Les deux artistes tentent ainsi de figer un moment charnière dans l’histoire de la planète. Peut-on sombrer encore plus bas ? Où mène cette voie creusée par l’humanité ? 

anglais, néerlandais → NL, FR, EN
±1h
 


Présentation : Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Beursschouwburg
De et avec : Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere | Dramaturgie : Dries Douibi | Outside eye: Pol Heyvaert |  Mixage sonore : Lieven Dousselaere  | Technique : Korneel Coessens, Piet Depoortere, Koen Goossens et Babette Poncelet | Traduction en néerlandais et sous-titres : Marika Ingels | Traduction en français : Isabelle Grynberg
Production : CAMPO | Coproduction : Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Bunker-Bunker, Ljubljana, De Brakke Grond, Noorderzon – Festival of Performing Arts and Society, Zürcher Theater Spektakel, Beursschouwburg, PACT Zollverein, Théâtre de la Ville, Festival d’Automne à Paris
Résidences : KWP Kunstenwerkplaats, Pilar, Bara142 (Toestand), De Grote Post, 30CC, GC De Markten & GC Felix Sohie

Remerciement spéciaux à : John Childs, Henko De Stigter, Patricia Esquete, Iason-Zois Gazis, Jolien Goossens, Matthias Haeckel, An Lambrechts, Ted Nordhaus, Maureen Penjueli, Surabhi Ranganathan, Duygu Sevilgen, Joey Tau, Saskia Van Aalst, Kris Van Nijen, Vincent Van Quickenborne et Annemiek Vink | Merci à : tous les interlocuteurs du projet et aux personnes qui ont aidé aux retranscriptions

image © Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere


www.kfda.be

You might also like: