Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere Pleasant Island [postponed]
performance coproduction

Documentary-theatre about the decay of a paradise-like island.

Hidden in the Pacific Ocean lies the small island of Nauru, once called Pleasant Island by European explorers. Its history appears to be a metaphor of our current day and age, in which colonization, capitalism, migration and ecology are on a collision course. After the exhaustive exploitation of the island’s vast underground phosphate deposits, both under British-Australian rule and afther its independence in 1968, the island was left in economic and ecologic ruins. Today Nauru is hosting dead-end refugee camps in return for a large amount of Australian money. Meanwhile, the island risks to be swallowed by the ocean as a result of the rising sea level.

It is in this post-apocalyptic setting that documentary theatremakers Silke Huysmans and Hannes Dereere encounter the limitations of a world that is intent on endless growth. Drawing on interviews and conversations with residents and refugees on the island, they search for new perspectives. What future is there in a place that has been exhausted in ecological, economic and humanitarian terms? And how do we deal with the gloomy predictions that appear to await all of us?

BIO

Based in Brussels, Silke Huysmans and Hannes Dereere took their first steps at Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek and Bâtard Festival in Brussels. Together they create documentary theatre performances. In their acclaimed first work “Mining Stories”, which was also presented at Beursschouwburg, they explored the impact of a mining disaster in 2015 in the south of Brazil. After its premiere at last year’s edition of Kunstenfestivaldesarts, we are happy to present Pleasant Island again in times when voices on the entanglements around the current border regime, extractivism and anxiety are strategically being ignored. 

 

 

In English, French & Dutch subtitles 

by: Silke Huysmans and Hannes Dereere, sound mixing: Lieven Dousselaere, thanks to: all conversation partners in Nauru, presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Beursschouwburg, production: kunstencentrum CAMPO, coproduction: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Spring Festival Utrecht, Beursschouwburg,
Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, Veem House For Performance, Theaterfestival SPIELART München, De Brakke Grond, residencies: Beursschouwburg, De Grote Post, KAAP, Kunstencentrum Buda, kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, STUK, De Brakke Grond, LOD, Veem House for Performance

Photo © Vlad Sokhin

Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere Pleasant Island
performance coproduction
FR 04.12 20:30
SA 05.12 20:30

De quoi a l’air la fin du monde sur une île paradisiaque ? 

Nauru, autrefois baptisée « Pleasant Island » par les Européens, est une petite île au milieu du Pacifique et une des plus petites Nations du monde. Consommée par la colonisation, le capitalisme, les enjeux migratoires et écologiques, son histoire est une parabole de nos sociétés contemporaines. Durant son occupation, puis après son indépendance en 1968, l’île a tiré sa richesse de l’extraction du phosphate, jusqu’à épuiser totalement ses réserves. Elle voit à ce moment le passage rapide d’une économie minière et extractive à une économie migratoire. Aujourd’hui, les Australiens financent et mènent des camps pour les migrants qui sont rejetés après avoir tenté d’atteindre leur pays : des mesures qui profitent aux habitants mais laissent les réfugiés sans perspectives. Mais qu’importe tout ça, Nauru va bientôt disparaître sous les eaux.

Face à cette absence d’avenir, le travail documentaire de Silke Huysmans et Hannes Dereere vient rouvrir le dialogue. Les deux artistes mènent leurs recherches sur le terrain auprès des habitants de la ville et des camps de Nauru. Que faire devant l’inéluctable ? Quel horizon fixer, maintenant que l’utopie insulaire prend fin ? Pleasant Island réinvestit avec intelligence et sensibilité tout l’imaginaire post-apocalyptique qui entoure cette petite île, et avec elle, la fatigue de notre planète.

BIO

Silke Huysmans et Hannes Dereere font leurs débuts artistiques au centre Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek et au Bâtard Festival à Bruxelles. Il·Elle réalisent ensemble des représentations théâtrales documentaires. Leur premier spectacle Mining Stories a rencontré d’excellentes critiques et a également été présenté au Beursschouwburg. Les auteur·e·s y explorent l’impact d’une catastrophe minière en 2015 au sud du Brésil. Après la première de Pleasant Island l’année dernière au Kunstenfestivaldesarts, nous nous faisons un plaisir de reprendre ce spectacle en ce temps où les voix évoquant les complexités de l’actuel régime des frontières, l’extractivisme et la peur se voient stratégiquement ignorées.

 

En anglais, soustitré en français et néerlandais

by: Silke Huysmans and Hannes Dereere, sound mixing: Lieven Dousselaere, thanks to: all conversation partners in Nauru, presentation: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Beursschouwburg, production: kunstencentrum CAMPO, coproduction: Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Spring Festival Utrecht, Beursschouwburg,
Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, Veem House For Performance, Theaterfestival SPIELART München, De Brakke Grond, residencies: Beursschouwburg, De Grote Post, KAAP, Kunstencentrum Buda, kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, STUK, De Brakke Grond, LOD, Veem House for Performance

Photo © Vlad Sokhin