Sara Leghissa Will you marry me?
performance
SU 19.09 12:00

A site-specific and temporary public lecture that invites us to relate with the boundaries between what is legal and what is illegal.

“I'm fascinated with the difference between supposedly private and supposedly public and I try to engage with the issue of what it means to live in a society that's seemingly shock-proof, yet still is compelled to exercise secrecy.” - Barbara Kruger

WILL YOU MARRY ME? comes from personal shared experiences collected between Prato, Ramallah, Marseille, Madrid and Nyon and it echoes some strategies and disobedient practices used by activists from all around the world as forms to circumvent the law without violating it, whenever it affects people’s rights.

Considering the assumption that the law is a fluid parameter, which changes depending on where we are in the world, the historical period in which we live and the sort of privileges we enjoy, the law defines what is considered moral, licit, in other words, what is right. It distributes power and the perception of power in society, defining, categorizing, dividing and controlling. The shape of the lecture itself investigates a specific portion of the spectrum of illegality, namely the relationship between illegal acts and public space. It explores how we can act disobedience before everyone’s eyes, suggesting possible forms of complicity and public resistance. For Beursschouwburg’s anual theme “Are We There Yet?”, Sara will explore new contents for the lecture in relation to that question.

Read WEAR A MASK, BECOME INVISIBLE How to make an illegal action interact with a content that coincides with it? by Sara Leghissa

WHO?
Sara Leghissa is an artist, performer and researcher based in Milano. Graduated in Contemporary History, she has been co-founder of the collective Strasse, involved in site-specific production in public space. Strasse worked within the frames of performance and cinema, investigating the relationship between movement and urban landscape to question and intensify our relationship to reality. For the Italian scene, she organizes icw. Annamaria Ajmone, Nobody’s Business, an independent platform for sharing practices in the performing arts and NESSUNO, a collective where artists from different disciplines gather to share their strong diversity, shuffling contexts and contents. As a performer, she has collaborated with various artists and company as Teatro Valdoca, -Dom, Giorgia Ohanesian Nardin, Muta Imago, Annamaria Ajmone, Jacopo Miliani, Daniela Bershan. She has been recently in residency at Sareyett (Ramallah) and La Casa Encendida (Madrid) and she has presented the work in different contexts including Santarcangelo Festival (IT), Triennale Teatro dell’Arte (IT), Short Theatre (IT), VAC Foundation (IT), Far Festival (CH), Oerol Festival (NL), Festival Parallèle (FR), Saal Biennal (EE), Les Tombee De La Nuit (FR).
https://saraleghissa.com

concept: Sara Leghissa
text and dramaturgy in collaboration with: Carlo Fusani, Tomas Gonzalez, Catalina Insignares
illustrations, graphic layout: Marzia Dalfini
promotion: Giulia Messia 
produced by Triennale Teatro dell'Arte- Milano, Far Festival- Nyon 
partners: Short Theatre- Roma, Sareyett– Ramallah, Saal Biennal- Tallinn, Parallele Festival - Marseille, within the frame of More Than This - Creative Europe

Sara Leghissa Will you marry me?
performance

Une conférence publique temporaire et in-situ, qui nous invite à explorer les limites de la légalité et de l'illégalité.

"Je suis fascinée par la différence entre ce qui est supposé être privé et public, et j'essaie de porter mon engagement sur ce que cela signifie de vivre dans une société apparemment à l'abri de tout choc, mais qui est pourtant dans l'obligation d'exercer le secret." - Barbara Kruger

 

WILL YOU MARRY ME ? est le fruit d'expériences personnelles partagées entre Prato, Ramallah, Marseille, Madrid et Nyon et fait écho à certaines stratégies et pratiques de désobéissance, utilisées par des militants du monde entier pour contourner les lois sans les enfreindre lorsqu'il s'agit de défendre les droits humains.

 

En partant du principe que la loi est un paramètre variable en fonction de l'endroit où on se situe, de la période historique dans laquelle on vit et du type de privilèges dont on jouit, la loi définit ce qui est considéré comme moral ou licite, autrement dit, ce qui est juste. Elle distribue le pouvoir et la perception du pouvoir dans la société, par la définition, la catégorisation, la division et le contrôle. La conférence elle-même, dans sa forme, examine une partie spécifique du spectre de l'illégalité, à savoir la relation entre l’espace public et les actes illégaux. Elle explore la manière dont nous pouvons faire acte de désobéissance au yeux de tous, tout en suggérant des formes possibles de complicité et de résistance publique. Pour "Are We There Yet?", le thème annuel du Beursschouwburg, Sara proposera de nouveaux contenus en relation avec cette question lors de la conférence.

Lire WEAR A MASK, BECOME INVISIBLE How to make an illegal action interact with a content that coincides with it? par Sara Leghissa

BIO

Sara Leghissa est une artiste, performeuse et chercheuse basée à Milan. Diplômée en histoire contemporaine, elle est cofondatrice du collectif Strasse, impliqué dans des productions in-situ dans l'espace public. Strasse a œuvré dans le cadre de la performance et du cinéma, en étudiant la relation entre le mouvement et le paysage urbain pour questionner et intensifier notre rapport à la réalité. Pour la scène italienne, elle organise icw. Annamaria Ajmone, Nobody's Business, une plateforme indépendante d'échange de pratiques dans le domaine des arts de la scène et NESSUNO, un collectif où des artistes de différentes disciplines se réunissent pour partager leur forte diversité, tout en déplaçant les contextes et les contenus. En tant que performeuse, elle a collaboré avec divers artistes et compagnies comme Teatro Valdoca, -Dom, Giorgia Ohanesian Nardin, Muta Imago, Annamaria Ajmone, Jacopo Miliani, Daniela Bershan. Elle a récemment été en résidence à Sareyett (Ramallah) et à La Casa Encendida (Madrid) et a présenté son travail dans différents contextes dont le Festival Santarcangelo (IT), la Triennale Teatro dell'Arte (IT), le Short Theatre (IT), la Fondation VAC (IT), le Far Festival (CH), le Festival Oerol (NL), le Festival Parallèle (FR), la Saal Biennal (EE), Les Tombées De La Nuit (FR).

concept: Sara Leghissa
texte et dramaturgie en collaboration avec: Carlo Fusani, Tomas Gonzalez, Catalina Insignares
illustrations, graphic: Marzia Dalfini
promotion: Giulia Messia 
producé par Triennale Teatro dell'Arte- Milano, Far Festival- Nyon 
partnenaires: Short Theatre- Roma, Sareyett– Ramallah, Saal Biennal- Tallinn, Parallele Festival - Marseille, dans le cadre de More Than This - Creative Europe