music performance film expo conversations dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
Mooni Van Tichel – STILL / ALIVE

performance

Mooni Van Tichel – STILL / ALIVE

dance
TH 19.09 20:30
FR 20.09 20:30

Four superheroes and their vulnerable super-bodies.

 

 

+- 60 min.
language no problem
trigger warnings: smoke, loud noises, stroboscope, complete blackouts

Four dancers move in stop-motion to a fixed beat. Like immortal superheroes, they endlessly engage in a cycle of attacking, defending, wiping sweat, and reloading. Seemingly effortlessly, they continue to build their imagined super-bodies and super-narratives. Yet, slowly, small cracks begin to appear in their grand gestures. Are they ready to change the world? Or are they themselves trapped in a system with no way out? 

Mooni Van Tichel raises questions about desire, violence, power, glory, pain, and vulnerability in her first group performance. Who has the right to defend themselves? Who can be violent without repercussions? And what violence is made (in)visible? Inspired by virtuosic bodies, science fiction, and the literature of Octavia Butler and Elsa Dorlin, STILL / ALIVE explores utopian and dystopian worldviews for our future. 

about

Mooni Van Tichel has a background in hip-hop, house and breakdancing. In 2021, she completed a master's degree in contemporary dance from P.A.R.T.S. She is part of the collective leprojetgeo, which organizes activities with residents of the Bellevue nursing home in Forest focusing on physical connection, touch and dance. Mooni has performed with artists like Nathan Ooms, Stanley Ollivier, Olivier Dubois, and Kris Verdonck. She has also worked as an outside eye and choreographic assistant for Antoine Dupuy Larbre and Marthe Koning. Since 2023, Mooni has been a resident artist at workspacebrussels as part of a three-year development program.

https://www.instagram.com/moonivantichel

credits

Concept & creation: Mooni Van Tichel – Performance: Costa Tombroff, Eli Mathieu Bustos, Manon Kanjinga Janssen, Mooni Van Tichel – Artistic assistant: Antoine Dupuy Larbre – Lighting design: Niels Runderkamp – Costume design: Stefan Kartchev – Sound design: Gizem Karaosmanoğlu – Technique: Christophe Deprez – Production management: Riet Meeus – Production: workspacebrussels (Brussels) – Coproduction: Kunstencentrum BUDA (Courtrai), KAAP (Bruges/Ostend), workspacebrussels (Brussels) – Residencies: A Two Dogs Company (Brussels), CAMPO (Ghent), c o r s o (Berchem), KAAP (Bruges), Kunstencentrum BUDA (Courtrai), STUK (Leuven), workspacebrussels (Brussels) – Supported by: the Flemish Community 
Image: Willem Mevis

music performance film expo conversations dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
Mooni Van Tichel – STILL / ALIVE

performance

Mooni Van Tichel – STILL / ALIVE

danse
TH 19.09 20:30
FR 20.09 20:30

Quatre super-héros et leurs super-corps vulnérables.

+- 60 min.
sans paroles
avertissements: fumée, bruits forts, stroboscope, moments de noir complet

Quatre danseur·ses se déplacent en stop-motion sur un rythme régulier. Tels des super-héro·ïnes immortel·les, ils et elles poursuivent sans fin un cycle d’attaque et de défense, essuient leur sueur et se ressourcent pour recommencer de plus belle. Sans effort apparent, iels continuent l’édification de leurs super-corps et super-récits imaginaires. Lentement, de petites fissures apparaissent cependant dans leurs grands gestes. Sont-ils et elles prêt·es à changer le monde ? Ou sont-ils et elles coincé·es dans un système sans issue ?

Ce premier spectacle de groupe de Mooni Van Tichel soulève des questions sur le désir, la violence, le pouvoir, la gloire, la douleur et la vulnérabilité. Qui a le droit de se défendre ? Qui a le droit d’être violent sans en subir de répercussion ? Et quelle violence est rendue (in)visible ? Inspirée par des corps virtuoses, par la science-fiction et par la littérature d’Octavia Butler et d’Elsa Dorlin, la chorégraphe part en quête de visions utopiques et dystopiques de notre avenir.

à propos

Mooni Van Tichel a baigné dans l’univers de hip-hop, de la house et du breaking. En 2021, elle obtient un master en danse contemporaine à P.A.R.T.S., à Bruxelles. Mooni est membre du collectif leprojetgeo, qui organise des activités avec les résidents de la maison de retraite Bellevue à Forest autour du lien physique, du toucher et de la danse. En tant que performeuse, elle a travaillé avec Nathan Ooms, Stanley Ollivier, Olivier Dubois et Kris Verdonck, et comme œil extérieur et assistante chorégraphique, avec Antoine Dupuy Larbre et Marthe Koning. Depuis 2023, Mooni Van Tichel est artiste en résidence à workspacebrussels, dans le cadre d’un parcours de développement d’une durée de trois ans.

https://www.instagram.com/moonivantichel

crédits

Concept & création : Mooni Van Tichel – Performance : Costa Tombroff, Eli Mathieu Bustos, Manon Kanjinga Janssen, Mooni Van Tichel – Assistant artistique : Antoine Dupuy Larbre – Création lumières : Niels Runderkamp – Création costumes : Stefan Kartchev – Création son : Gizem Karaosmanoğlu – Technique : Christophe Deprez – Responsable de production : Riet Meeus – Production : workspacebrussels (Bruxelles) – Coproduction : Kunstencentrum BUDA (Courtrai), KAAP (Bruges/Ostende), workspacebrussels (Bruxelles) – Résidences : A Two Dogs Company (Bruxelles), CAMPO (Gand), c o r s o (Berchem), KAAP (Bruges), Kunstencentrum BUDA (Courtrai), STUK (Louvain), workspacebrussels (Bruxelles) – Avec le soutien de : la Communauté flamande
Image: Willem Mevis