Rodrigo Batista The Furious Rodrigo Batista (Side A) + The B-Side
performance
FR 09.10 20:30
SA 10.10 20:30

Two solo performances by a furious Rodrigo Batista that seek out artistic attitudes capable of triggering real rebellion. 

Political desperation is the impetus behind Rodrigo Batista’s work, which he sees as performative revolt. Revolt against, among other things, the decline of democracy in Brazil, a development which has radically changed Batista’s understanding of his role as a theatre practitioner. If democracy has failed, what does that mean for representation in and of itself? How can political statements be staged, and what kind of artistic attitude can trigger real insurgency? With these questions as his starting point, he created a two-part solo performance. 

In Side A Rodrigo’s furious alter ego performs a dance solo to a soundtrack of Brazilian pop songs. Rodrigo throws his body into the space before the audience, defying all shame. Approaching a state of despair and fury, he performs a fervent dance based on movements and gestures that evoke celebration, despair, the grotesque and the sexual. His furious energy is palpable.

In The B-Side, with his body as a locus, Rodrigo develops explicitness into an aesthetic, investigating straightforward language, gore-pornographic visuality and decolonisation as a territorial battle, all as part of an intense physical research approach drawing on notions of iconoclasm, mutilation, blood and sex.

 

20:00 doors
20:30 SIDE A
21:10 break 
21:45 SIDE B
22:30 end

 

BIO

Rodrigo Batista is a theatre maker and educator based in Amsterdam. Most recently he has developed a collection of pieces, in the context of the DAS Theatre Master Programme, that have the ambition of bringing insurrection into the performance space. Previous to his work in Europe, he worked for over 10 years with his São Paulo-based group [pH2]: estado de teatro. They presented theatrical investigations in dialogue with philosophy, cinema and dance that were awarded several grants and prizes. Rodrigo has presented works in Brazil, Mexico, Colombia, Germany, Italy and the Netherlands and also worked as a theatre educator in several cultural and social programmes in São Paulo.

“My art is here as a reminder that Europe has the responsibility to give territory back. Bolsonaro and his friends should disappear. The migrant anger should not be suppressed – ANGER is POWER. If we don’t have the same rights, turn SOLIDARITY UPSIDE DOWN.”

In English and Portuguese with English surtitles
120 min

THE FURIOUS RODRIGO BATISTA (SIDE A)

concept & performance: Rodrigo Batista, guest audio-performer: Beatriz Id Limongelli, text: Rodrigo Batista citeert MC Tati Zaqui, MC Livinho, Aviões do Forró, Banda Vingadora, Marília Mendonça, Banda Sedutora & Marina Lima, video design: Rodrigo Batista, sound design: Cainã Vidor en Rodrigo Batista, light design: Rodrigo Batista, research collaboration: Paloma Franca Amorim & Ana Carolina Pekny, productional collaboration: Mariana Senne, light: Jãnis Balodis, advice: Joachim Robbrecht & Aitana Cordero, coproduction: Central Fies / Live Works Award vol. 6 & Das Theater Amsterdam

THE B-SIDE

concept & performance: Rodrigo Batista , textRodrigo Batista citeert Frantz Fanon, The Fugees, Juliano Gomes, Thai Di Marco, Heiner Müller, Nicole Oliveira, Iggy Pop en Rihanna, video design: Rodrigo Batista, sound design: Cainã Vidor & Rodrigo Batista light design: Jãnis Balodis, dramaturgical collaboration: Thais Di Marco & Fabien Marcil, productional collaboration: Mariana Senne, advice: Joachim Robbrecht, Katerina Bakatsaki, Thais Di Marco & Aitana Cordero, coproduction: Das Theater Amsterdam

With the support of the Dutch embassy

You might also like:

Rodrigo Batista The Furious Rodrigo Batista (Side A) + The B-Side
performance
FR 09.10 20:30
SA 10.10 20:30

Rodrigo Batista lutte à corps perdu contre le capitalisme, sous toutes ses formes, usant d'une esthétique faite d'images explicites, d'un langage gorgé de slogans, de porno saignant et de décolonisation brutale. 

Désespéré par la situation politique actuelle, Rodrigo Batista a déversé toute sa rage dans The Furious Rodrigo Batista (Side A) + The B-Side. Sa révolte sur scène s'attaque, notamment, au déclin de la démocratie au Brésil, qui a radicalement transformé la perception de son rôle en tant que praticien du théâtre. Quelles sont les conséquences de l'échec de la démocratie sur la représentation, en soi et de soi? Comment mettre en scène le discours politique, et quelle attitude adopter, artistiquement parlant, pour déclencher une véritable insurrection? Taraudé par ces questions, il crée ce solo en deux parties.

Face A (Side A), le furieux alter ego de Rodrigo Batista danse en solo sur fond de chansons pop brésiliennes. Il lance son corps dans l'espace, face au public, faisant fi de toute honte et, avec l'énergie du désespoir, exécute une danse pleine de ferveur évoquant la fête, le désespoir, le grotesque et le sexe. Sa rage est palpable.

Face B (B-Side), usant de son corps comme lieu, Rodrigo Batista fait de l'explicicité une esthétique, explorant le langage direct, la visualité porno-gore et la décolonisation en tant que bataille territoriale. Le tout dans le cadre d'une intense démarche de recherche physique nourrie de réflexions sur l'iconoclasme, la mutilation, le sang et le sexe.

 

20:00 doors
20:30 SIDE A
21:10 pause 
21:45 SIDE B
22:30 fin

 

BIO

Le metteur en scène et pédagogue Rodrigo Batista est basé à Amsterdam. Dans le cadre du programme du master en théâtre du DAS Theater, il a développé une série de pièces ayant pour ambition de faire naître l'insurrection au sein même de l'espace de représentation. Ses oeuvres ont voyagé au Brésil, au Mexique, en Colombie, en Allemagne, en Italie et aux Pays-Bas. Avant de travailler en Europe, il a collaboré une dizaine d'années avec le groupe [pH2] : estado de teatro et donné des cours de théâtre, au sein de diverses organisations culturelles et sociales, à Sao Paulo.

"Mes oeuvres cherchent à rappeler à l'Europe sa responsabilité, et que des territoires doivent être rendus. Bolsonaro et ses amis doivent disparaître. La colère des migrants ne doit pas être étouffée. La COLÈRE, c'est le POUVOIR. Si les droits ne sont pas égaux, la SOLIDARITÉ DOIT ÊTRE MISE SENS DESSUS DESSOUS."

In English and Portuguese with English surtitles
120 min

THE FURIOUS RODRIGO BATISTA (SIDE A)

concept & performance: Rodrigo Batista, guest audio-performer: Beatriz Id Limongelli, text: Rodrigo Batista citeert MC Tati Zaqui, MC Livinho, Aviões do Forró, Banda Vingadora, Marília Mendonça, Banda Sedutora & Marina Lima, video design: Rodrigo Batista, sound design: Cainã Vidor en Rodrigo Batista, light design: Rodrigo Batista, research collaboration: Paloma Franca Amorim & Ana Carolina Pekny, productional collaboration: Mariana Senne, light: Jãnis Balodis, advice: Joachim Robbrecht & Aitana Cordero, coproduction: Central Fies / Live Works Award vol. 6 & Das Theater Amsterdam

THE B-SIDE

concept & performance: Rodrigo Batista , textRodrigo Batista citeert Frantz Fanon, The Fugees, Juliano Gomes, Thai Di Marco, Heiner Müller, Nicole Oliveira, Iggy Pop en Rihanna, video design: Rodrigo Batista, sound design: Cainã Vidor & Rodrigo Batista light design: Jãnis Balodis, dramaturgical collaboration: Thais Di Marco & Fabien Marcil, productional collaboration: Mariana Senne, advice: Joachim Robbrecht, Katerina Bakatsaki, Thais Di Marco & Aitana Cordero, coproduction: Das Theater Amsterdam

With the support of the Dutch embassy

You might also like: