voetbalfestivaldefootball
Bend It Like Beckham
open air cinema
TU 03.07.2018 22:30

A girl with passion and talent is held back by her traditional Sikh parents.

Bend It Like Beckham tells the story of Jess Bhamra, an 18-year-old English girl with Indian roots. She has one great passion: playing football! That is to the considerable consternation of her conservative and traditional Sikh parents. Her great model is David Beckham. 

When someone her own age invites her to join in with the local women's team, the Hounslow Harriers, her talent is confirmed, and the way is paved towards a professional sporting career. But at home, she is forbidden to play with them any longer, and is forced to pursue her passion in secret.

Director Gurinder Chatha intelligently tackles laden and poignant issues, including intercultural dilemmas, women's independence and the importance of family, but thanks to the relief of comical intermezzos and disarming interpretations, has put them into a film that is enjoyable for everyone. 

Gurinder Chatha, UK / Allemagne / USA, 2002, 112’
w/ Offscreen

music performance film expo dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
voetbalfestivaldefootball
Bend It Like Beckham

film

Bend It Like Beckham

open air cinema
TU 03.07.2018 22:30

Une jeune fille dont la passion et le talent sont contrecarrés par des parents Sikh traditionnels.

Bend It Like Beckham raconte l'histoire de Jess Bhamra, une jeune anglaise de 18 ans d'origine indienne. Elle n'a qu'une seule passion : le foot ! Ceci, au grand désespoir de ses parents sikh traditionnalistes et conservateurs. Son idole est David Beckham. 

Quand un de ses contemporains l'invite à venir taper dans le ballon avec l'équipe féminine locale, les Hounslow Harriers, son talent footballistique se dévoile et lui ouvre la voie d'une carrière de sportive professionnelle. Ses parents lui interdisant de fréquenter le club à l'avenir, Jess se voit forcée de se cacher pour continuer sa passion.

Le réalisateur Gurinder Chatha aborde de manière intelligente les questions d'actualité telles que l'interculturalité, l'indépendance des femmes et l'importance de la famille mais sait comment les habiller d'intermèdes comiques légers et d'interprétations désarmantes pour en faire un amusant film tout public.

Gurinder Chatha, UK / Allemagne / USA, 2002, 112’
w/ Offscreen