Samah Hijawi Aesthetics of the Political
performance discussion screening
26 SEP — 6 DEC

A programme of different encounters that takes time to look closely at the critical language, and forms of resistance in artistic work.

Over the coming months we will come together in a series of events and conversations to experience artworks, discuss and engage with different artists, to reflect on the choices they make in their work when dealing with politically charged materials and different forms of coloniality. 

In our first performative encounter, the artist Mirna Bamieh will present Menu of Dis/appearance, which brings us together in a much needed setting—around the table to break bread. Mirna Bamieh, narrates stories about time, history, and the parts of ourselves that slip away with lost food traditions. In her dinner-table performance she takes us on a journey through the dishes that are slowly disappearing from the Palestinian table, as access to wild foraging is restricted by colonial appropriation of both the land and the foods of the Palestinians over time. In this work, the artist takes the audience through the violence embedded in the meticulous erasure of identity of the colonised, even in their food culture.

A conversation published in RektoVerso between filmmaker Maxime Jean-Baptiste and the artist/curator of this program, Samah Hijawi, on the critical thinkers that inspire the aesthetical choices in their work: conversations-on-aesthetics-of-the-political

find out more on future projects by SIC: soundimageculture.org/aesthetics_of_the_political

 

DATES        

26.09.2020 - Pianofabriek
Menu of Dis/appearance, dinner performance by Mirna Bamieh, The Palestine Hosting Society
find out more

9.11.2020 - Beursschouwburg
What do we mean by Aesthetics of the Political? Discussion 

6.12. 2020 - BOZAR
Cruel Images  talk, screenings and discussions with Oraib Toukan, Miguel Peres dos Santos, Sabine Groenewegen, Maxime Jean-Baptiste, Ogutu Muraya and Sandra Heremans

 

Presented by SoundImageCulture, curated by Samah Hijawi

In partnership with Chair Mahmoud Darwich, BOZAR, Pianofabriek and Beursschouwburg. Supported by VGC, SCAM, SABAM for Culture, Kunstenwerkplaats, OMAM/MSH

Design by daretoknow

Photo by Oraib Youkan

You might also like:

Samah Hijawi Aesthetics of the Political
performance discussion screening
26 SEP — 6 DEC

Un programme axé autour des différentes rencontres qui prennent le temps pour examiner de près le développement d’un langage critique et le développement de formes de résistance dans le travail artistique.

Au courant des prochains mois, nous nous réunirons des artistes autour leurs oeuvres d’arts et discuterons avec différents artistes, et  questionnent leurs choix sur leurs matériel politiquement chargés et de différentes formes de colonialité.

Lors de notre première rencontre performative, l'artiste Mirna Bamieh présentera Menu of Dis/appearance, qui nous réunit dans un cadre très nécessaire - autour de la table pour partager le pain. Mirna Bamieh, raconte des histoires sur le temps, l'histoire, et les parties de nous-mêmes qui s'éclipsent avec les traditions alimentaires perdues. Dans son dinner table performance, elle nous fait voyager à travers des plats qui disparaissent lentement de la table palestinienne, car l'accès à la nourriture est limité par l'appropriation coloniale de la terre et des aliments des Palestiniens au fil du temps. Dans cette œuvre, l'artiste démontre au public la violence inhérente de l'effacement méticuleux de l'identité des colonisés, même dans leur culture alimentaire.

En attendant, nous vous invitons à un aperçu dans l'univers du cinéaste Maxime Jean-Baptiste. Dans une conversation récemment publiée dans RectoVerso Maxime et l'artiste/curateur de ce programme, Samah Hijawi, réfléchissent ensemble aux  penseurs critiques qui inspirent les choix esthétiques de leur travail: conversations-on-aesthetics-of-the-political

Les prochaines rencontres auront lieu avec Oraib Toukan, Maxime Jean-Baptiste, Miguel Peres dos Santos, Ogutu Muraya, Sandra Heremans et Sabine Groenewegen. Plus d'informations:  : soundimageculture.org/aesthetics_of_the_political

DATES

26.09.2020 - Pianofabriek
Menu of Dis/appearance, dinner performance par Mirna Bamieh, The Palestine Hosting Society
find out more

9.11.2020 - Beursschouwburg
What do we mean by Aesthetics of the Political? Discussion 

6 & 7.12.2020 - BOZAR
Cruel Images  conférence, projections et discussions avec Oraib Toukan, Miguel Peres dos Santos, Sabine Groenewegen, Maxime Jean-Baptiste, Ogutu Muraya et Sandra Heremans.

 

Ce programme est présenté par  SoundImageCulture, curé par Samah Hijawi.

En partenariat avec la Chaire Mahmoud Darwich, BOZAR, Pianofabriek et Beursschouwburg. Soutenu par VGC, SCAM, SABAM for Culture, kunstenwerkplaats, OMAM/MSH

Graphisme par daretoknow

Photo par Oraib Youkan

You might also like: