Mirna Bamieh / Palestine Hosting Society Menu of Dis/appearance
today
PERFORMANCE @ PIANOFABRIEK
SA 26.09 18:30

Presented by SoundImageCulture. As part of the programme Aesthetics of the Political curated by Sammah Hijawi

Menu of Dis/appearance, brings us together in a much needed setting—around the table to break bread. Mirna Bamieh’s work narrates stories about time, history, and the parts of ourselves that slip away with lost food traditions. In her dinner-table performance she takes us on a journey through the dishes that are slowly disappearing from the Palestinian table, as access to wild foraging is restricted by colonial appropriation of both the land and the foods of the Palestinians over time. In this work, the artist takes the audience through the violence embedded in the meticulous erasure of identity of the colonised, even in their food culture.

BIO

Palestine Hosting Society is a live-art project founded and run by artist/cook Mirna Bamieh in which she seeks to examine the culture of food in Palestine that aims to construct and reconstruct their relationships to place, history, society and politics, through food. The research unfolds through eating, reading, and conversation. The research develops into culinary interventions that unpack social concerns and limitations vis-à-vis contemporary political dilemmas, reflecting upon the conditions that characterise contemporary Palestinian communities.

Mirna Bamieh is an artist from Ramallah/ Palestine. She obtained a B.A in Psychology from Birzeit University in Ramallah (2002-06). M.F.A. in Fine Arts at Bezalel Academy for Arts and Design in Jerusalem (2011-2013). Ashkal Alwan HomeWorks study program in Beirut (2013/14). Her work attempts to understand and contemplate the ever-shifting politics, while equally questioning notions of land and geographies of in-between temporality. Her work looks at scenarios that take the language of the absurd and the ironic and uses them as tools for political commentary. Currently, she is working on developing works that use the mediums of storytelling, and food for creating situational performances such as: Potato Talks Project, Palestine Hosting Society

palestinehostingsociety.com
instagram

Menu of Dis/appearance worldwide premiere in New York, commissioned by the Fisher Center for Performing Arts, for the Live Arts Bard Biennial: Where No Wall Remains (2019)

Aesthetics of the Political, presented by SoundImageCulture, is a program of different encounters that takes time to look closely at the critical language, and forms of resistance in artistic work. 

Curated by Samah Hijawi

In partnership with Chair Mahmoud Darwich, BOZAR, Pianofabriek and Beursschouwburg. Supported by VGC, SCAM, SABAM for Culture, Kunstenwerkplaats, OMAM/MSH.

Design by daretoknow

Mirna Bamieh / Palestine Hosting Society Menu of Dis/appearance
PERFORMANCE @ PIANOFABRIEK
SA 26.09 18:30

Presented by SoundImageCulture. As part of the programme Aesthetics of the Political curated by Sammah Hijawi

Menu of Dis/appearance nous réunit dans un cadre très nécessaire - autour de la table pour partager le pain. L’oeuvre de Mirna Bamieh raconte des histoires sur le temps, l'histoire, et les parties de nous-mêmes qui s'éclipsent avec les traditions alimentaires perdues. Dans son dinner table performance, elle nous fait voyager à travers des plats qui disparaissent lentement de la table palestinienne, car l'accès à la nourriture est limité par l'appropriation coloniale de la terre et des aliments des Palestiniens au fil du temps. Dans cette œuvre, l'artiste démontre au public la violence inhérente de l'effacement méticuleux de l'identité des colonisés, même dans leur culture alimentaire.   

BIO

‘Palestine Hosting Society’ est un projet d’art vivant où l’artiste et cuisinière Mirna Bamieh cherche à examiner la culture de l’alimentation en Palestine, en visant à construire et reconstruire, à travers la nourriture, les relations entre un lieu, l’histoire, la société et la politique. La recherche se déroule en mangeant, en lisant et en discutant. Des interventions culinaires explicitent les préoccupations et les limites sociales face aux dilemmes politiques contemporains, en nous faisant réfléchir sur les conditions qui caractérisent les communautés palestiniennes contemporaines.

Mirna Bamieh est une artiste de Jérusalem/Palestine. Elle a obtenu un baccalauréat en psychologie de l’Université Birzeit à Ramallah (2002-2006). une maîtrise en Beaux-Arts à l’Académie Bezalel des Arts et du Design de Jérusalem (2011-2013) et un diplôme d’ Ashkal Alwan HomeWorks à Beyrouth (2013/14). Son travail tente de comprendre et de contempler la politique en constante évolution, tout en questionnant les notions de terre et de géographie de l’entre-deux-temps. Son travail s’intéresse davantage aux scénarios qui prennent le langage de l’absurde et de l’ironie et s’en servent comme outils de commentaire politique. Actuellement, elle développe des oeuvres qui utilisent la narration et la nourriture pour créer des performances situationnelles telles que: Potato Talks Project, Palestine Hosting Society.

palestinehostingsociety.com
instagram

Menu of Dis/appearance : première mondiale à New York, commande du Fisher Center for Performing Arts, pour la biennale Live Arts Bard : Where No Wall Remains (2019)

Aesthetics of the Political, présenté par SoundImageCulture, est un programme axé autour des différentes rencontres qui prennent le temps pour examiner de près le développement d’un langage critique et le développement de formes de résistance dans le travail artistique

Curé par Samah Hijawi

En partenariat avec la Chaire Mahmoud Darwich, BOZAR, Pianofabriek et Beursschouwburg. Soutenu par VGC, SCAM, SABAM for Culture, kunstenwerkplaats, OMAM/MSH

Graphisme par daretoknow

You might also like: