Amber Vanluffelen Lucky Charms
today
expo
16 JUN — 3 JUL

In the name of sports, the arts and the Cats! Amber Vanluffelen created an altar for the Belgian Cats, who will soon be playing the European Basketball Championship.

Amber Vanluffelen is a Brussels-based artist whose practice encompasses performance, drawing, film and installation. Drawn from the different realities and communities that she navigates – ballroom culture, basketball, nightlife, anime – the narratives that take shape in her work reflect her eclectic interests and passions.

It was while designing her costume for a performance in 2019 that she first reached out to the Belgian Cats, the national female basketball team. A year later, their collaboration materializes in the form of ‘Lucky Charms’, an attempt to bridge the divide between sports culture and the art world while looking into the dynamics of collaboration and mutuality that constitute the core of a team, a group, a collective.

Before gifting the textile piece designed ‘sur mesure’ for the players, her amulet or portable shrine will be displayed for three weeks in Beursschouwburg, while the team plays the European championship. The sound piece that comes with it, is composed by Mathias MU. To the question Are We There Yet? Amber replies with a touch of magic, a gift, and a pinch of superstition.

 

OPENING HOURS
June 16 - July 3
Wednesday - Saturday 15:00 - 17:00

FREE GUIDED TOURS with Amber Vanluffelen
In English - Wednesday June 16, 16:00-17:00 - reserve your spot
In Dutch - Saturday June 26, 16:00-17:00 - reserve your spot

 

BIO

After graduating from the Royal Academy of Fine Arts, Antwerp in 2016, Amber Vanluffelen (b. 1991, Brasschaat, Belgium) took on a trajectory in visual and performing arts, and joined the STRTkit residency programme in 2017. Her work was presented at Horst (2020, 2019, 2017); Yart (2019); The Pink House (2018); NICC Antwerp (2018); Greylight Projects (2018); Stems Gallery (2020); Kunsthal Extra City (2017); Middelheim Museum (2015). Her first solo exhibition Winona was presented in 2018 at Forbidden City, Antwerp. She also performed for CONVERSING MOTHERBOARDS (2019).

Image: Courtesy Amber Vanluffelen

Sound piece composed by Matthias MU

Amber Vanluffelen Lucky Charms
expo
16 JUN — 3 JUL

Au nom du sport, de l'art et des Cats ! Amber Vanluffelen a réalisé un autel pour les Belgian Cats qui participeront bientôt au championnat européen de basket-ball.

Amber Vanluffelen est une artiste basée à Bruxelles dont la pratique englobe la performance, le dessin, la vidéo et l'installation. Tirés des différentes réalités et communautés qu'elle côtoie - la culture du bal, le basket-ball, le monde de la nuit, l'anime - les récits qui prennent forme dans son travail reflètent l'éclectisme de ses intérêts et de ses passions.

C'est en concevant son costume pour une performance en 2019 qu'elle contacte pour la première fois les Belgian Cats, l'équipe nationale de basket-ball féminin. Un an plus tard, leur collaboration se matérialise sous la forme de Lucky Charms, une tentative de combler le fossé entre la culture sportive et le monde de l'art tout en examinant les dynamiques de collaboration et de mutualité au cœur d'une équipe, d'un groupe, d'un collectif.

Avant de leur remettre la pièce textile conçue sur mesure pour les joueuses, son amulette ou sanctuaire portable sera exposée pendant trois semaines au Beursschouwburg, pendant que l'équipe joue le championnat européen. La bande sonore qui accompagne le travail est composée par Mathias MU. À la question Are We There Yet ? Amber répond avec une touche de magie, une offrande et une pincée de superstition...

 

HEURES D'OUVERTURE
Du 16 juin au 3 juillet
Mercredi - samedi 15:00 - 17:00

TOURS GUIDEES avec Amber Vanluffelen
En anglais - mercredi 16 juin, 16:00-17:00 - réservez ici
En néerlandais - samedi 26 juin , 16:00-17:00 - réservez ici

 

BIO

Après avoir obtenu un diplôme de l'Académie royale des Beaux-Arts d'Anvers en 2016, Amber Vanluffelen prend une tangente dans les arts visuels et du spectacle, et rejoint le programme de résidence STRTkit en 2017. Son travail a été présenté à Horst (2020, 2019, 2017) ; Yart (2019) ; The Pink House (2018) ; NICC Antwerp (2018) ; Greylight Projects (2018) ; Stems Gallery (2020) ; Kunsthal Extra City (2017) ; et au Middelheim Museum (2015). Sa première exposition solo Winona a été présentée en 2018 lors de Forbidden City, Anvers. Elle a également réalisé une performance pour CONVERSING MOTHERBOARDS (2019).

Sound piece composed by Matthias MU