architectures of violence
Burning Conspiracies

conversations

Burning Conspiracies

READING discussion
TH 16.02 19:00

A round table with Joachim Ben Yakoub, Latifa Elmcabeni, Nadia Fadil & Code Rouge, hosted by Ibrahim Khayar.

"From 1991 until the day you read this letter, the hogra we suffer has probably become more pronounced, more predictable too, still following the same strategies and patterns. Contempt is the common thread... Sometimes it prevents us from breathing; then we move, we revolt. We have no choice." - Burning Conspiracies, From Brussels with Love, Baobab van de Teranga and Joachim Ben Yakoub.

In a speculative letter to the readers of the future-present, Joachim Ben Yakoub and Baobab van de Teranga unravel the story of the riots that marked the streets of the Saint-Antoine neighborhood in Forest in the spring of 1991. 30 years later, a group of artists came together to revisit the anger that inflamed the neighborhood, producing the exhibition Feu2Forêt with a series of events hosted by the Artistory collective and Code Rouge.

A collective reading of this letter will be the starting point of an open conversation, gathering Brussels thinkers and activists around the smoldering fire of revolt in order to propose new imaginaries to relate to the violence in urban, public places. As in the formation of a vigil, we wish to convene a circle of memory; to perform a temporal loop to weave another thread in the urban fabric, through the suffocating space of the public order. The gathering wishes to break away from the patterns of recurrent and lethal violence in order to imagine a different public space carried by other possible communities.

 

in French
moderated by Ibrahim Khayar
2 hours

Ibrahim Khayar is a doctor, presently specializing in psychiatry. As an active witness in different militant movements, his research focuses on the current work of the psychiatrist and decolonial activist Frantz Fanon and its use in the social and clinical fields of Brussels.

Joachim H. Ben Yakoub is a writer/researcher and lecturer operating on the border of different art institutions and schools in between Tunis, Tunisia, and Brussels, Belgium. As part of ‘The Kitchen’, a safe house in the center of the capital, he is currently experimenting with different rhythms of hosting and sharing fugitive aesthetic praxes.

Latifa Elmcabeni co-founded the Collectif des Madrés in January 2018. Confronted with a growing number of testimonies of young people undergoing police violence in Saint-Gilles from the proximity brigade "UNEUS" (UNion for a Secure Urban Environment), they decided to bring together mothers of the neighborhood and youth workers. Together they mobilized and called on local elected officials, the press and their fellow citizens. Since then, joined by about twenty women from all walks of life, the work of the Collective has spread to the whole Brussels region and takes part in reflections and actions on a European scale for a more just and equal world.

Nadia Fadil works as an Associate Professor at the Department of Social and Cultural Anthropology at KU Leuven.Her research centers on Islam in Europe (taking Brussels as ethnographic site), which she examines both as a living tradition as well as an object of regulation. She draws on this empirical question to reflect on a vast set of theoretical issues such as subjectivity and power, ethical selfhood, the body, postcoloniality, governmentality, race and secularism. She is the PI of several research projects on the nexus of race, religion, migration and security. Amongst others ‘Deradicalizing the city. Policy assemblage, security and home-making in Brussels, EUrope and Marseille’. 

Code Rouge is a rapper and filmmaker from Brussels. In 2008, he released his first album, 'Pour la couleur de nos yeux', just after the murder of Joe Van Holsbeeck at Central Station. Since then, video clips have followed, linking Brussels to the world, in collaboration with Emel Mathlouthi (Tunisia), Maya Safar (Syria), Arona (Senegal) and Sonando En La Habana (Cuba). He also made several short films such as 'Le Jour qui vient', and 'Les cris restent'.

architectures of violence
Conspirations Brûlantes

conversations

Conspirations Brûlantes

READING discussion
TH 16.02 19:00

Une table ronde avec Joachim Ben Yakoub, Latifa Elmcabeni, Nadia Fadil et Code Rouge, accueillie par Ibrahim Khayar

"Depuis 1991 jusqu'au jour où vous lirez cette lettre, la hogra que nous subissons est probablement devenue plus prononcée, plus prévisible aussi, suivant toujours les mêmes stratégies et des schémas similaires. Le mépris est le fil conducteur… Parfois, il nous empêche de respirer; alors on bouge, on se révolte. On n’a pas le choix." – Conspirations brûlantes, De Bruxelles avec amour, Baobab van de Teranga et Joachim Ben Yakoub.

Dans une lettre spéculative adressée aux lecteurices du futur-présent, Joachim Ben Yakoub et Baobab van de Teranga (qui ne pourra malheureusement pas se joindre à la conversation) dénouent le récit des émeutes qui ont marqué les rues du quartier Saint-Antoine à Forêt au printemps 1991. 30 ans plus tard, un groupe d’artistes se sont rassemblés pour revisiter la colère qui a attisé le quartier, et ont réalisé ensemble l’exposition Feu2Forêt accompagnée d’une série d’événements accueillis par le collectif Artistory et Code Rouge.

Une lecture collective de cette lettre sera le point de départ d’une conversation ouverte rassemblant autour du feu couvant de la révolte penseur.euses et acteurs engagé.e.s à Bruxelles, proposant de nouveaux imaginaires pour penser et agir différemment notre rapport à la violence dans l’espace public urbain. Comme dans la formation d’une veillée, nous souhaitons convoquer un cercle de mémoire; performer une boucle temporelle pour tisser un autre fil dans le tissu urbain, dans l’espace étouffant de l’ordre public. On se rassemble en vue de casser les schémas de violence récurrente létale et d’imaginer un espace public différent porté par une autre collectivité possible.

en français
accueillie par Ibrahim Khayar
2h

Ibrahim Khayar est médecin et poursuit une spécialisation en psychiatrie. Témoin actif dans differents movements militants, ses recherches portent sur l'actualité de l'oeuvre du psychiatre et militant décolonial Frantz Fanon, et sur son utilisation dans les champs sociaux et cliniques bruxellois

Joachim H. Ben Yakoub est un écrivain/chercheur opérant à la frontière de différentes institutions et écoles d'art entre Tunis et Bruxelles. Au ‘Kitchen’ un refuge situé au centre de la capitale, il s’engage actuellement, à travers différents rythmes d'accueil et de partage, dans differentes praxis et d’esthétiques fugitives.

Nadia Fadil est professeur associé au département d'anthropologie sociale et culturelle de la KU Leuven. Ses recherches portent sur l'islam en Europe (en prenant Bruxelles comme site ethnographique), qu'elle examine à la fois comme une tradition vivante et comme un objet de régulation. Elle s'appuie sur cette question empirique pour réfléchir à un vaste ensemble de questions théoriques telles que la subjectivité et le pouvoir, l'identité éthique, le corps, la postcolonialité, la gouvernementalité, la race et la laïcité. Elle est directrice de plusieurs projets de recherche sur les liens entre race, religion, migration et sécurité. Entre autres, ‘Deradicalizing the city. Policy assemblage, security and home-making in Brussels, EUrope and Marseille’.  

Latifa Elmcabeni a co-fondé le Collectif des Madrés en janvier 2018. Interpellées par le nombre de témoignages de jeunes subissant des violences policières à Saint-Gilles de la part de la brigade de proximité « UNEUS » (UNion pour un Environnement Urbain Sécurisé), elles décident de réunir des mamans du quartier et des travailleurs·euses en milieu jeunes. Ensemble elles se mobilisent et interpellent les élus locaux, la presse et leurs concitoyen·ne·s. Depuis, rejointes par une vingtaine de femmes de tous horizons, le travail du Collectif s’étend à toute la région de Bruxelles et participe à des réflexions et des actions à l’échelle européenne pour un monde plus juste et égalitaire.

Code Rouge est un rappeur et un cinéaste bruxellois. En 2008, il sort son premier album, ‘Pour la couleur de nos yeux’, juste après le meurtre de Joe Van Holsbeeck à la gare centrale. Depuis, des clips vidéo ont suivi, reliant Bruxelles au monde (en collaboration avec Emel Mathlouthi (Tunisie), Maya Safar (Syrie), Arona (Sénégal) Sonando En La Habana (Cuba)). Il développe également une pratique cinématographique et réalise plusieurs courts métrages tels que ‘Le Jour qui vient’, et ‘Les cris restent’.