Beyond the momentum #HijabisFightBack
talk
TH 16.12 19:00

To learn from their past and reflect on their future, we continue the conversations and actions of the #HijabisFightBack movement, beyond the momentum.

SInce the Covis-19 outbreak several anti-racist and decolonial movements were born or gaining traction. These movements were experiencing a momentum: an increased mobilisation and collective awareness thanks to uprisings driven in part by the interconnectivity of social networks and hashtags – one of their most efficient tools. The movements were reaching the global stage as well as in the local context of Belgium and Brussels: from #BlackLivesMatter to #FreePalestine, and #HijabisFightBack to #StopAsianHate.

Now, as the outside world strives to regain some kind of (new) normalcy, Beyond The Momentum aims to continue the conversations and actions of these social justice movements through a series of talks and gatherings; to learn from their past and reflect on their future, beyond the momentum.

The Beyond The Momentum conversation on #HijabisFightBack will explore the movement’s achievements and its potential for the future. In particular, the conversation will focus on the return to physical presence in academic life and administrations and how this had been addressed from the outset by students and administrative workers who wear headscarves, connecting the movement to other social justice actions through intersectional identities.

The speakers will be announced soon.

18:30 doors
19:00 talk

Beyond the momentum #HijabisFightBack
conversation
TH 16.12 19:00

Cette conférence vise à poursuivre les conversations et les actions du mouvement #HijabisFightBack. Il importe en ce sens d'apprendre de leur passé et de réfléchir à leur avenir, sans s'essouffler.

Dès le début de l'épidémie de Covid-19, plusieurs mouvements antiracistes et décoloniaux ont vu le jour ou pris de l'ampleur. Ces différents mouvements ont connu un nouveau souffle : une mobilisation et une prise de conscience accrue grâce aux manifestations portées en partie par l'interconnectivité des réseaux sociaux et des hashtags, un de leurs outils les plus efficaces. Si ces mouvements ont eu une portée mondiale, ils se sont aussi inscrits dans le contexte local de la Belgique et de Bruxelles : de #BlackLivesMatter à #FreePalestine, en passant par #HijabisFightBack et #StopAsianHate.

Aujourd'hui, alors que le monde tente de retrouver une sorte de (nouvelle) normalité, Beyond The Momentum vise à poursuivre les conversations et les actions de ces mouvements de justice sociale avec une série de conférences et de rassemblements. Il importe en ce sens d'apprendre de leur passé et de réfléchir à leur avenir, sans s'essouffler.

La conversation Beyond The Momentum sur #HijabisFightBack explorera les accomplissements du mouvement et son potentiel pour l'avenir. Elle se focalisera sur le retour au présentiel dans la vie académique et administrative, et sur la manière dont cette question a été abordée dès le début par les étudiant-e-s et les travaill-eurs-euses de l'administration qui portent le foulard, reliant ainsi le mouvement à d'autres actions de justice sociale par le biais d'identités intersectionnelles.

18:30 doors
19:00 talk