Clarice Gargard Remember what you forgot

film

Clarice Gargard Remember what you forgot

film
WE 28.02 20:30

Black Lives Matter turned the world upside down. But was it a tipping point for lasting change?

Ga Terug En Haal Het / Remember what you forgot, 2022, 53’, VO NL ST EN

The Black Lives Matter demonstrations of June 2020 were the largest anti-black racism protests and turned the world upside down. In ‘Remember what you forgot’, director Clarice Gargard wonders if this was a tipping point for change. To answer, she journeys through time and space, led by an omniscient guide. And retrieves memories from everyday resisters in the Netherlands, Suriname and Curaçao, in the hope that they can foreshadow the future.

This event is a co-creation with Recognition.

The screening is followed by an aftertalk in English with the filmmaker, moderated by Heleen Debeuckelaere.

 

Clarice Gargard is a Dutch journalist, writer and filmmaker of Liberian and American descent. She has worked for various newspapers and broadcasters such as VPRO, BNNVARA, Vrij Nederland and the Correspondent and was a columnist for the NRC. In 2019 Daddy and the Warlord, the documentary about her father and the Liberian civil war, won a Golden Calf. She wrote the book Daughter of Dragons about Liberia, her family history and migration. Clarice has also won several awards and has been nominated for her groundbreaking work combining journalism, art and social criticism, such as the Joke Smit Incentive Award, the Black Achievement Award and the Emma Goldman Snowball Award.
https://www.claricegargard.nl/
https://www.instagram.com/claricegargard/

 

Heleen Debeuckelaere is a historian by training (Ghent University) and journalist covering domestic issues at De Standaard. She lives and works in Brussels, where she writes about social inequality and justice.


Recognition is a Brussels-based initiative with an aim of increasing the visibility of African and African diaspora art, literature and culture via community-based film screenings, workshops and expositions. It is an effort to identify, remember and acknowledge the work that has for so long been marginalized and left on the sidelines from mainstream media. Recognition was founded in 2016 by Lyse Ishimwe Nsengiyumva. Film screenings take place every month at various cinemas and cultural institutions in Brussels. The program focuses on films by and about people of African descent.
https://www.instagram.com/recognitionbxl/

Clarice Gargard Remember what you forgot

film

Clarice Gargard Remember what you forgot

film
WE 28.02 20:30

Black Lives Matter a bouleversé le monde entier. Mais était-ce vraiment un tournant pour que les choses changent ?

Ga Terug En Haal Het / Remember what you forgot, 2022, 53’, VO NL ST EN

Les manifestations Black Lives Matter de juin 2020 ont été les plus importantes manifestations contre le racisme dans le monde. Dans ‘Ga terug en haal het’, la réalisatrice Clarice Gargard interroge les suites de ce mouvement. Guidée par une voix omnisciente, elle entreprend un voyage à travers le temps et l'espace. Elle retrace les souvenirs de résistant·e·s aux Pays-Bas, au Suriname et à Curaçao, en espérant qu'iels puissent lui apprendre quelque chose sur l'avenir.

Cet événement est une co-création avec Recognition.

La projection est suivie d'une discussion en anglais avec la réalisatrice, modérée par Heleen Debeuckelaere.

 

Clarice Gargard est une journaliste, écrivaine et réalisatrice néerlandaise d'origine libérienne et américaine. Elle a travaillé pour des médias tels que VPRO, BNNVARA, Vrij Nederland et de Correspondent et a été chroniqueuse pour le NRC. Son film ‘Daddy and the Warlord,’ un documentaire sur son père et la guerre civile libérienne, a remporté un Veau d'Or au Festival du Film Néerlandais en 2019. Elle est l'auteure du livre ‘Drakendochter’, qui mêle l’histoire de sa famille à celle du Libéria et de la migration. Clarice a également remporté plusieurs prix et nominations pour son travail novateur à la frontière du journaliste, de l'art et de la critique sociale, comme le prix d'encouragement Joke Smit, le Black Achievement Award et le Emma Goldman Snowball Award.
https://www.claricegargard.nl/
https://www.instagram.com/claricegargard/

 

Heleen Debeuckelaere est historienne de formation (Université de Gand) et journaliste locale à De Standaard. Elle vit et travaille à Bruxelles, où elle écrit sur la justice et les inégalités sociales.

 

Recognition est une initiative bruxelloise dont l'objectif est d'accroître la visibilité de l'art, de la littérature et de la culture africaines par le biais d'ateliers, de projections de films et d'expositions. Elle constitue un effort pour identifier, commémorer et reconnaître des œuvres longtemps marginalisées hors du circuit médiatique grand public. Recognition a été fondé en 2016 par Lyse Ishimwe Nsengiyumva. Chaque mois, des projections sont organisées dans différents cinémas et lieux culturels bruxellois. Le programme se concentre sur des films réalisés par et sur les personnes afrodescendantes.
https://www.instagram.com/recognitionbxl/