Meggy Rustamova Horaizon
film
WE 24.11 20:30

An experimental film fluctuating between photography and moving images.

In times where the ecological confrontation between nature and humans has reached a point of no return, many scientists suggest that current events are a result of human intrusion into nature, occupying too much space on this planet. As millions of people inhabit big cities, we tend to forget how important nature and landscapes are for human sanity. In Horaizon, tourists travel across borders in search for sublime landscapes, while paradoxically leaving a footprint that inevitably destroys these wonders of nature. The film is shot in different locations throughout the world: Belgium, Iceland, Arizona and New York amongst others. The horizons, sunsets and weather conditions between these places form the common thread of the film.

The screening will be followed by a conversation with filmmaker Meggy Rustamova and curator Dagmar Dirkx (in English)

More short films to be added to the programme.

 

WHO?

Meggy Rustamova (°1985), born in Tbilisi, Georgia, lives and works in Brussels and Sint-Niklaas, Belgium. She obtained her Master’s degree in visual arts at KASK, Ghent (2006-2011), studied at the Universität der Künste in Berlin (2010) and accomplished the postgraduate course at HISK (2012-2013). Over the past few years, Meggy Rustamova has developed an interdisciplinary oeuvre consisting of photographic works, videos, installations and performances. Her work offers a distinctly poetic look at the relationship between individual and collective memory, between language as communication and visual vocabulary. She searches for ways to translate contemporary social tendencies and issues into her own work, often by means of microhistories. The beauty of her often optimistic-looking images hides a certain melancholy or desire for utopia. 

Dagmar Dirkx (°1993) studied art history at the KU Leuven, Belgium. Dagmar wrote reviews and essays for De Witte Raaf, Metropolis M and rekto:verso. As an author and art historian, she is regularly commissioned by artists and cultural institutions such as STUK Huis voor Dans, Beeld en Geluid or CIAP Kunstverein. As a research curator, Dagmar is conducting an art historical research project on video art in Belgium during the seventies for ARGOS centre for audiovisual arts in Brussels.

Meggy Rustamova Horaizon
film
WE 24.11 20:30

Un film expérimental qui oscille entre la photographie et les images en mouvement.

À une époque où la confrontation écologique entre la nature et les humains atteint un point de non-retour, les scientifiques sont nombreux à suggérer que les événements actuels résultent de l'intrusion des humains dans la nature, qu'ils occupent trop d'espace sur cette planète. Étant des millions à habiter les grandes villes, nous oublions l'importance de la nature et des paysages pour notre santé. Dans Horaizon, des touristes traversent les frontières à la recherche de paysages sublimes, tout en laissant une empreinte qui détruit inévitablement ces merveilles de la nature. Le film est tourné aux quatre coins du monde : entre autres en Belgique, en Islande, en Arizona et à New York. Les horizons, les couchers de soleil et les conditions météorologiques de ces lieux constituent le fil conducteur du film.

La projection sera suivie d'une conversation avec la cinéaste Meggy Rustamova et la commissaire Dagmar Dirkx (en anglais).

D'autres courts métrages à ajouter au programme.

QUI ?

Meggy Rustamova (°1985), née à Tbilissi en Géorgie, vit et travaille à Bruxelles et à Sint-Niklaas. Elle a obtenu son master en arts visuels au KASK de Gand (2006-2011), a étudié à l'Universität der Künste de Berlin (2010) et a complété le cursus post-universitaire au HISK (2012-2013). Au cours des dernières années, Meggy Rustamova a développé une œuvre interdisciplinaire composée d'œuvres photographiques, de vidéos, d'installations et de performances. Son travail offre un regard singulier et poétique sur la relation entre la mémoire individuelle et collective, entre le langage comme communication et le vocabulaire visuel. Elle cherche à traduire les tendances et les questions sociales contemporaines dans son travail, souvent par le biais de micro-histoires. La beauté de ses images, souvent d'apparence optimiste, cache une certaine mélancolie ou un désir d'utopie.

Dagmar Dirkx (°1993) a étudié l'histoire de l'art à la KU Leuven en Belgique. Dagmar a écrit des critiques et des essais pour De Witte Raaf, Metropolis M et rekto:verso. En tant qu'autrice et historienne de l'art, elle est régulièrement sollicitée par des artistes et des institutions culturelles telles que STUK Huis voor Dans, Beeld en Geluid ou CIAP Kunstverein. En tant que commissaire de recherche, Dagmar mène un projet de recherche sur histoire sur l'art vidéo en Belgique dans les années 70 pour ARGOS, le centre des arts audiovisuels de Bruxelles.