music performance film expo dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
Janus Tussle - a film programme with Omar Adnan Chowdhury, Bani Khoshnoudi & Nashashibi/Skaer

film

Janus Tussle - a film programme with Omar Adnan Chowdhury, Bani Khoshnoudi & Nashashibi/Skaer

looped screening
MO 04.12.2023 10:00 - 18:00 BE premiere
TU 05.12.2023 10:00 - 18:00
WE 06.12.2023 10:00 - 18:00
TH 07.12.2023 10:00 - 18:00
FR 08.12.2023 10:00 - 18:00
SA 09.12.2023 10:00 - 18:00
SA 09.12.2023 18:00 collective viewing & discussion

Utterly unreliable documentary about a trade swap gone wrong.

On 09.12 (18:00 — 19:30), there will be a collective viewing followed by a discussion in the presence of the filmmaker Omar Adnan Chowdhury.

 

Omar Adnan Chowdhury, Janus Tussle (BE première)
24 min., 16:9, colour, stereo, in English and Bengali with English subtitles

Elusive and unreliable, the film Janus Tussle follows the aftermath of a failed antiques trade between Bangladesh and Paris in 2008. Two shadowy sources recount protests by angry activists, priceless works stolen and dumped by treasure-hunting baggage crusaders, the resignation of the culture minister and the unfortunate death of a young diplomat. The fictional documentary unravels and complicates concepts of exchange, trust and shifting power relations. What remains is the mystery around a multipolar situation, still cursed by an unjust, traumatic past.

Commissioned by the British Council and Arts Council England

 

Bani Khoshnoudi, Cem (Togetherness), 2013, 
4 min., Super 8, Iran-France, no spoken language

Filmed on Super-8 during a demonstration of Kurds in Paris, Cem joins the idea of ​​a collective body.  The "cem" or "jam" in Persian and Kurdish means being together, united; the term also refers to Sufi gatherings, always manifested through dance.

Music: "Weather" by Andy Moor, from his solo album MARKER (copyright Unsounds – 2007)

 

Nashashibi/Skaer, Flash In The Metropolitan, 2006
3 mins 25 secs, 16mm film, no spoken language

Shot in 2006 in New York’s Metropolitan Museum of Art, the film tracks through the Near Eastern, African and Oceanic collections, offering fleeting glimpses of statues, bowls and historical artefacts. These ancient objects are granted only a split second in the limelight, lit up by a flashing strobe, but the metronomic regularity of those flashes reverses the transitory nature of these brief glimpses, hinting in three short minutes at the vast, almost unimaginable stretches of time that separate the old objects.

Courtesy of the artists, doggerfisher, Edinburgh — Commissioned by Spike Island — Supported by the Elephant Trust

 

Omar Adnan Chowdhury (1984) is a Bengali-Australian artist and filmmaker, trained in Industrial Relations and Information Systems, who lives and works in Dhaka and Brussels. He makes para-fictional installations, films and performances that animate the alienating ambiguities and fault lines of diasporic life.
http://omarchowdhury.com
http://instagram.com/omaradnanchowdhury

 

Filmmaker and visual artist Bani Khoshnoudi was born in Tehran and immigrated to the United States in 1979 during the revolution. She studied architecture, photography and cinema at the University of Texas at Austin and was studio artist at the Whitney Museum Independent Study Program in New York. Her works, inhabited by displacement and uprooting, explore themes of exile, modernity and its effects, memory and the invisible. Her films and work have been shown at festivals, museums and art centers around the world. In 2022, she was awarded the Herb Alpert Award for the Arts in Film/Video.
https://www.instagram.com/bbanii/

 

Rosalind Nashashibi and Lucy Skaer are artists with international solo careers, but they also collaborate as Nashashibi/Skaer. Nashashibi/Skaer met in Glasgow and began working together in 2005. Their films have shown internationally to critical acclaim at venues such as the Berlin Biennial 5, Tate Britain, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Carnegie Museum of Art and the ICA London and they are represented in public collections including The Metropolitan Museum of Art, The Pompidou, FRAC Marseille, and Arts Council Collection, UK. Recent works have taken exisiting artworks as their starting point, and Nashashibi/Skaer’s latest film, ‘Why Are You Angry?’ utilises Gauguin’s vision of the south seas. The film premiered at Documenta 14 (2017), and will form part of a retrospective exhibition for Tate St Ives 2018.

 

still 1: Janus Tussle 
still 2: Cem (Togetherness)
still 3: Flash In The Metropolitan

Janus Tussle - un programme de Omar Adnan Chowdhury, Bani Khoshnoudi & Nashashibi/Skaer

film

Janus Tussle - un programme de Omar Adnan Chowdhury, Bani Khoshnoudi & Nashashibi/Skaer

looped screening
MO 04.12.2023 10:00 - 18:00 première BE
TU 05.12.2023 10:00 - 18:00
WE 06.12.2023 10:00 - 18:00
TH 07.12.2023 10:00 - 18:00
FR 08.12.2023 10:00 - 18:00
SA 09.12.2023 10:00 - 18:00
SA 09.12.2023 18:00 collective viewing & discussion

Un documentaire invraisemblable sur un échange commercial raté

Le 09.12 (18:00 - 19:30), il y aura un visionnage collectif suivi d'une discussion en présence du réalisateur Omar Adnan Chowdhury.

 

Omar Adnan Chowdhury, JANUS TUSSLE (première BE)
24 min., 16:9, couleur, stéréo, en anglais et en bengale, sous-titrage anglais 

Insaisissable et invraisemblable, le film Janus Tussle suit les conséquences d'un commerce d'antiquités raté entre le Bangladesh et Paris en 2008. Deux sources obscures racontent les protestations de militants en colère, les objets inestimables volés et jetés par des chasseurs de bagages, la démission du ministre de la culture et la mort tragique d'un·e jeune diplomate. Ce documentaire fictif démêle et complique les concepts d'échange et de confiance et l'évolution des rapports de force. Le mystère reste entier autour d'une situation multipolaire, encore marquée par un passé injuste et traumatisant.

Commandité par le British Council et l'Arts Council England.

 

Bani Khoshnoudi, CEM (TOGETHERNESS), 2013
4 min, Super 8, Iran-France, pas de langue parlée

Filmé en Super 8 lors d'une manifestation de Kurdes à Paris, Cem rejoint l'idée d'un corps collectif. Le "cem" ou "jam" en persan et en kurde signifie être ensemble, uni ; le terme renvoie également aux rassemblements soufis, toujours manifestés par la danse.

Musique : "Weather" d'Andy Moor, extrait de son album solo MARKER (copyright Unsounds - 2007).

 

Nashashibi/Skaer, FLASH IN THE METROPOLITAN, 2006
3 minutes 25 secondes, film 16 mm, pas de langue parlée

Tourné en 2006 au Metropolitan Museum of Art de New York, le film parcourt les collections du Proche-Orient, d'Afrique et d'Océanie, offrant des aperçus fugaces de statues, de bols et d'artefacts historiques. Ces objets anciens n'ont droit qu'à une fraction de seconde sous les feux de la rampe, éclairés par un stroboscope clignotant, mais la régularité métronomique de ces flashs renverse la nature transitoire de ces aperçus, évoquant en trois courtes minutes les vastes étendues de temps, presque inimaginables, qui nous séparent de ces objets anciens.

Avec l'aimable autorisation des artistes et de doggerfisher, Édimbourg — Commandité par Spike Island — Avec le soutien de l'Elephant Trust

 

OMAR ADNAN CHOWDHURY (1984) est un artiste et cinéaste bengali-australien, formé aux relations industrielles et aux systèmes d'information, qui vit et travaille entre Dhaka et Bruxelles. Il réalise des installations para-fictionnelles, des films et des performances qui illustrent les ambiguïtés aliénantes et les lignes de fracture de la vie diasporique.
http://omarchowdhury.com
http://instagram.com/omaradnanchowdhury

 

La réalisatrice et artiste visuelle BANI KHOSHNOUDI est née à Téhéran et a immigré aux États-Unis en 1979 pendant la révolution. Elle a étudié l'architecture, la photographie et le cinéma à l'université du Texas à Austin et a participé en tant qu'artiste au Whitney Museum Independent Study Program à New York. Ses œuvres, habitées par le déplacement et le déracinement, explorent les thèmes de l'exil, de la modernité et de ses effets, de la mémoire et de l'invisible. Son travail a été présenté dans des festivals, des musées et des centres d'art du monde entier. En 2022, elle a reçu le Herb Alpert Award for the Arts in Film/Video.
https://www.instagram.com/bbanii/

 

Rosalind Nashashibi et Lucy Skaer ont une carrière solo distincte à l'internationale, mais elles collaborent également sous le nom de Nashashibi/Skaer. Elles se sont rencontrées à Glasgow et travaillent ensemble depuis 2005. Leurs films ont été présentés dans le monde entier et encensés par la critique à la Biennale 5 de Berlin, la Tate Britain, le Metropolitan Museum of Art, le Carnegie Museum of Art et l'ICA de Londres. Elles sont représentées dans des collections publiques telles que le Metropolitan Museum of Art, le Pompidou, le FRAC de Marseille et l'Arts Council Collection, au Royaume-Uni. Leurs travaux récents partent d'œuvres d'art existantes, et leur dernier film Why Are You Angry, s'inspire des vues de Gauguin sur les Mers du Sud. Le film a été présenté pour la première fois à la Documenta 14 (2017) et fera partie d'une exposition rétrospective à la Tate St Ives en 2018.

 

still 1: Janus Tussle 
still 2: Cem (Togetherness)
still 3: Flash In The Metropolitan