music performance film expo conversations dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
5Y OsÀre editions Lolina + Alex Deforce & Charlotte Jacobs + Nur/se

music

5Y OsÀre editions Lolina + Alex Deforce & Charlotte Jacobs + Nur/se

today
concert
WE 17.04 20:00

Poetic voices and fearless electronics to build worlds.

20:15 Nur/Se
21:30 Alex Deforce + Charlotte Jacobs present Kwart Voor Straks (live)
22:30 Lolina (live)

Lolina is, for now at least, the stage name of Alina Astrova. She was born in Russia, grew up in Estonia, moved to London at 17 to study art criticism, and has since gone lowkey famous as an electronic and digital music artist under the alias Inga Copeland and as one half of the mysterious duo Hype Williams between 2009 and 2013 (along with Dean Blunt, the pseudonym of the equally mysterious artist behind Babyfather). With the 2016 release of ‘Live In Paris’, her first video LP, Lolina turned to digital composition. Her live performances experimented with CDJs, intuitive vocal improvisations, and the distortions of loops and scratches. Three more albums and a three-part NTS radio residency later, Lolina founded her own record label Relaxin Records, ahead of the release of her most recent album ‘Face The Music’ in 2022.


Kwart Voor Straks is the brand-new project of Alex Deforce & Charlotte Jacobs, two wordsmiths with different styles but similar philosophies. Alex is a painter, poet and curator; Jacobs is a vocalist and songwriter. Kwart Voor Straks interweaves their speaking and singing voices with sudden, evaporating musical fragments, at times no more than the synth-tastic distortion of a single, endlessly stretched syllable. A moody dance of fearless experimentation, for lovers of Voice Actor, ssabae or Laila Sakini who feel at home in Stroom's meticulously unbalanced world.
https://www.instagram.com/charlottejacobsmusic/
https://www.instagram.com/alexdeforce/


Nur/se is the DJ alias of Brussels-based artist Roberta Miss. Besides her visual practice, which spans fashion, print and painting (which she teaches at le75), Roberta is the co-founder of Poxcat, a collective that has been promoting Brussels DJs by sharing online mixes and organising some wiiiild parties for several years now – thanks for that <3. In her own sets, Nur/se moves through various sound and listening dynamics – from techno to spoken word and field recordings – often linked to contemporary activism and political resistance.
https://www.instagram.com/_roberta_miss_/

music performance film expo conversations dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
5Y OsÀre editions Lolina + Alex Deforce & Charlotte Jacobs + Nur/se

music

5Y OsÀre editions Lolina + Alex Deforce & Charlotte Jacobs + Nur/se

today
concert
WE 17.04 20:00

Voix poétiques et électronique intrépide pour la construction de mondes. 

20:15 Nur/Se
21:30 Alex Deforce + Charlotte Jacobs present Kwart Voor Straks (live)
22:30 Lolina (live)

Lolina est, pour l'instant du moins, le nom de scène d'Alina Astrova. Née en Russie, élevée en Estonie, elle déménage à Londres à 17 ans pour étudier la critique d'art avant de devenir lowkey célèbre en tant qu'artiste de musique électronique et numérique sous le pseudonyme d'Inga Copeland, notamment au sein du mystérieux duo Hype Williams entre 2009 et 2013 (avec Dean Blunt, l'artiste tout aussi mystérieux à l'origine de Babyfather). Avec la sortie de son premier LP vidéo 'Live In Paris' en 2016, Lolina se tourne vers la composition numérique. Ses performances live expérimentent avec les CDJ, des improvisations vocales intuitives et des loops et des scratches distordus. Après trois autres albums et une résidence en trois parties sur NTS, Lolina fonde son propre label Relaxin Records, en amont de la sortie de son dernier album 'Face The Music' en 2022.

 

Kwart Voor Straks est le tout nouveau projet d'Alex Deforce & Charlotte Jacobs, deux artisans du verbe aux styles différents mais proches dans leur philosophie. Alex est peintre, poète et curateur ; Jacobs est chanteuse et compositrice. Kwart Voor Straks entremêle leurs voix parlées et chantées avec des fragments musicaux évanescents, parfois ni plus ni moins que la distorsion synthétisée d'une seule syllabe étirée à l'infini. Une danse lunatique d'expérimentation intrépide, pour les amateur·ice·s de Voice Actor, ssabae ou Laila Sakini qui se sentent chez eux dans le monde méticuleusement déséquilibré de Stroom.
https://www.instagram.com/charlottejacobsmusic/
https://www.instagram.com/alexdeforce/

 

Nur/se est le nom qu'emprunte l'artiste bruxelloise Roberta Miss derrière les platines. Outre sa pratique visuelle, qui s'étend de la mode à l'impression en passant par la peinture (qu'elle enseigne notamment au 75), Roberta est la cofondatrice de Poxcat, un collectif qui fait la promotion de DJ bruxellois·es avec des mixes en ligne et des suuuuper soirées depuis plusieurs années maintenant – merci d'ailleurs <3. Dans ses propres sets, Nur/se se déplace à travers différentes dynamiques sonores, mobilisant de la techno, du spoken word, ou encore des field recordings, souvent liées à des formes contemporaines d'activisme et de résistance politique. 
https://www.instagram.com/_roberta_miss_/