music performance film expo conversations dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
Lydia McGlinchey MadDoG

performance

Lydia McGlinchey MadDoG

work-in-progress DAG VAN DE DANS
SA 27.04 18:00

A carefully tangled knot of apparent opposites.

A knot can hold together contradictions. Thinking from the knot demands an attentiveness to how the material world is underwritten by violent histories. The knot exposes the way different material, historical, stylistic objects are tied together, as well as the way in which power is tied into and structures particular constellations. Taking on a Bataillean conception of ‘base matter’, 'MadDoG' disrupts the distinction between high and low: the bimbo is materially made up of the prophetess, the carpet is also disco ball, the body is at once dog and human, thriving is entrenched in decline.

In 'MadDoG', dancer and choreographer Lydia McGlinchey works with spoken text, dance, and vocal work. With this piece, she wants to enmesh viewers in a dense ‘knot’ of interlaced but distinct materials and layers, informed by a textile practice of weaving and lace work. This work takes influence from gothic/horror and heavy metal.

 

Lydia Mcglinchey was born in Sydney, Australia, of Peruvian-Irish descent. She is currently working as a performer and maker, living in Brussels. Lydia is trained in dance/performance, yet she also works with textile/fiber art. Lydia's work FERAL was presented at Theatre VIERNULVIER, Kaaitheatre, and BUDA KunstenCentrum. Lydia has worked with Alix Eynaudi on her project Noa+Snow. Additionally, Lydia has worked with Simon Van Schuylenbergh, Nathan Ooms, Stefa Govaart, Micha Goldberg and Rosie Sommers.
https://www.instagram.com/lydiamcglinchey/

music performance film expo conversations dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
Lydia McGlinchey MadDoG

performance

Lydia McGlinchey MadDoG

performance DANSES EN FÊTE work-in-progress
SA 27.04 18:00

Un nœud soigneusement emmêlé de soi-disant contraires.

Un nœud peut rassembler des contradictions. Penser à partir du nœud exige d'être attentif·ve à la façon dont les violences sous-tendent le monde matériel. Le nœud expose les liens entre différents objets matériels, historiques et stylistiques, ainsi que la façon dont le pouvoir est maintenu par des structures et des constellations particulières. S'inspirant d'une conception bataillienne de la "matière première", 'MadDoG' perturbe la distinction entre le 'haut' et le 'bas' : la bimbo se fait prophétesse, le tapis est une boule à facettes, un corps chien et humain s'épanouit dans la déchéance.

Dans 'MadDoG', la danseuse et chorégraphe Lydia McGlinchey manie la danse et l'oralité. Dans cette pièce, elle souhaite imbriquer les spectateur·ice·s dans un "nœud" de matières et de fils entrelacés mais distincts, en s'inspirant de la pratique du tissage et du travail de la dentelle. 'MadDoG' puise son influence dans le gothique, l'horreur et le heavy metal.

 

Lydia McGlinchey est née à Sydney, en Australie, et vit actuellement à Bruxelles. Elle est danseuse et performeuse. Elle tisse également des textiles qu'elle utilise comme scénographie. Elle a étudié pendant cinq ans à P.A.R.T.S où elle a obtenu un MA en chorégraphie et formation à la danse. Lydia a collaboré avec Alix Eynaudi sur son projet 'Noa+Snow' présenté à Tanznacht Berlin et Wien Modern. Elle a également contribué aux publications finales du livre/catalogue 'Noa+Snow' lancé au Musée autrichien d'art populaire de Vienne et publié par BOM DIA BOA TARDE BOA NOITE.
https://www.instagram.com/lydiamcglinchey/