OUT LOUD
Amy
rooftop screening
WE 21.06.2017 22:30

“You Know I’m No Good”

An intensely sad and affecting look at the hugely talented Amy Winehouse, ill equipped for the all-consuming fame which her soulful voice would bring her.

On 23 July 2011, Amy Winehouse, born in London, joined the 'Forever 27', a tragic club of talented musicians including Brian Jones, Janis Japlin, Jimi Hendrix, Jim Morrison and Kurt Cobain, who played their last notes way too young. In the documentary Amy, we see how the British singer of Jewish origin grew from aspiring jazz singer with her phenomenal voice and musical talent into a world star who wrote and sang from the very depths of her heart.

The rough diamond on the 2003 debut album Frank, unfortunately, proved to be an unguided missile. Along with her success, her personal problems increased steadily. The album Back to Black in 2006 catapulted the then 23-year-old Winehouse to the highest echelons of the music charts. Everyone was wild about the white singer with black voice, but unfortunately the paparazzi were also wild about Winehouse’s controversial drink and drugs-infused lifestyle and her destructive marriage with Blake Fielder-Civil. The album marked the start of her irreversible downfall.

Director Asif Kapadia brings this chronicle of an announced death in a very intriguing, almost intimate way. He uses only archive material and illustrates important events from her life with lyrics. The effect is that Amy does not only seem the subject but also the author of her own story. The witnesses interviewed off-screen are like a background choir of ghosts, while Amy is omnipresent and, ironically, full of life.

Asif Kapadia, UK, 2015, 128 min. © Cinéart

music performance expo conversations dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
OUT LOUD
Amy

film

Amy

rooftop screening
WE 21.06.2017 22:30

“You Know I’m No Good”

Un regard triste et frappant sur la talentueuse Amy Winehouse, dévorée par la célébrité acquise par sa voix magnétique et poignante.   Le 23 juillet 2011, Amy Winehouse, née à Londres, accéda aux ‘Forever 27’, un club tragique de musiciens talentueux parmi lesquels Brian Jones, Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, Jim Morrison et Kurt Cobain, qui ont soufflé bien trop prématurément leur dernière note. Dans le documentaire Amy nous voyons comment la chanteuse britannique aux origines juives, d’une petite chanteuse de jazz ambitieuse dotée d’une voix et d’un talent phénoménaux, devient une star mondiale qui écrit et qui chante du fond de son cœur.

Le diamant brut sur son premier album Frank de 2003 se révèle malheureusement être un projectile non-contrôlé. Car son succès se double aussi de problèmes personnels qui finissent par prendre le dessus. L’album Back to Black en 2006 projette Winehouse - âgée alors de 23 ans - aux cimes des hit-parades. Tout le monde raffole de la chanteuse blanche à la voix black, mais hélas les paparazzis aussi se délectent de son style de vie controversé, imprégné d’alcool et de drogue et de son mariage destructif avec Blake Fielder-Civil. L’album devait annoncer sa chute irréversible.

Le réalisateur Asif Kapadia montre cette chronique d’une mort annoncée d’une manière pénétrante, quasi intime. Il ne se sert que de matériels d’archives et à l’aide de paroles des chansons il illustre des événements importants de sa vie. L’effet en est qu’Amy semble être non seulement le sujet mais aussi l’auteur de sa propre histoire. Les témoins interviewés en voix off sont comme des chœurs de fantômes, alors qu’Amy est omniprésente et - ô ironie - débordant de vitalité.

Asif Kapadia, UK, 2015, 128 min. © Cinéart