Professeur Promesses & Isengard Guilde w/ Donna Candy + tommy moisi + Lilo + Nonchalanté Partners + Vinessett

music

Professeur Promesses & Isengard Guilde w/ Donna Candy + tommy moisi + Lilo + Nonchalanté Partners + Vinessett

nightlife
FR 01.03 22:00

From nu-metal to trance, rock to trap, guaracha to footwork — this will be a celebration of musical hybridity!

22:00 Nonchalanté Partners (dj)
23:30 Lilo (dj)
00:30 tommy moisi (live)
01:30 Donna Candy (live)
02:15 promesses (dj) 
03:45 Vinessett (dj)

Donna Candy  
Lead-heavy nu-metal bass guitars, upside-down fuzzy vocals, splashing drums, unsettling vocals and relentless loops – is this the moshpit or the dance floor? Trick question: it is both, and the sludge goodies of DIY trio Donna Candy will make you hungry for more. It all started in Marseille, with the idea of a party band that would fit in between trance sets at 4am – but the trio soon became addicted to their own euphoric doom-noise. Live, they always face each other in the middle of the venue, without a stage. The energy between Donna Candy and their audience transforms, expands, erupts into a queer catharsis. Not much remains of the dichotomy between nihilistic machismo vs hyper-femininity so typical of metal; the irresistible faux-hybridity of 90s nu-metal, on the other hand, suddenly feels quite possible. A few short – but vigorous – tours of the French, Swiss and UK undergrounds, among others, led to their smashing debut LP 'Blooming', co-released by Bison, Isola, Kraak and Swallowing Helmets. The latter two previously booked Donna Candy at La Perle in Brussels; Promesses and Isengard are now taking them to that Silver Hall (which sure sounds like new music in the pipeline…).
https://www.instagram.com/donna__candy/
https://soundcloud.com/donnacandy/

 

tommy moisi has been writing, composing and singing for several years. His sensitive, poetic lyrics address universal emotions, his voice cradling the audience with a gentle and authentic energy. Yet his musical output feels more like candy with a thorn in its side than a pixelated rose. Such hybridity between HD and lo-fi, smooth and unpolished, Gen Z(eitgeist) and timelessness appears to beguile both online and off – including those who might not have heard it coming right away. The self-released EPs 'variety' and 'sparkling memories' are relished by a community of artists who seem to live somewhere between Soundcloud and Paris, such as producer NxxxxxS or Beurs familiars Oï les Ox and Salome. It's about time to meet irl – whatever that means.
https://www.instagram.com/tommy_moisi/
https://soundcloud.com/benedictlegroinscotvile

 

Lilo's musical choices are high contrast, washing over you like a perfume that rekindles deep emotions. Both in her playlists and her sets for LYL and Kiosk Radio, she digs deep into Eastern European electro trance of the early aughts, combined with typical sounds from her Ukraine childhood and a touch of rock from her teenage years in France. Let's dance <3
https://www.instagram.com/lilo___0o/
https://soundcloud.com/lil_o0o/

 

Nonchalanté Partners
An emotional rollercoaster, from gloomy to hopeful, such is the creed of sisters Chloé and Amélie. Nonchalanté Partners share ballads whose twists and turns are known only to them. Expect chirpy, cathartic and comforting tracks.
https://www.instagram.com/tchikyboom
https://www.instagram.com/chloecordiale
https://soundcloud.com/nonchalantexpartners

 

Vinessett, co-founder of Brussels-based artist collective and label Isengard, is a DJ who likes to stir up mischief above all else. You never know what the next layer will be, except that it'll be explosively funny. He calls on different eras and regions for his uptempo mess: guaracha, jersey club, bass music, EDM, dnb, rap, footwork... as long as it's nice and weird and nice and punchy.
https://www.instagram.com/vinessett/
https://soundcloud.com/vinessett

 

Promesses
When DJs Samos and Härdee mix together, they call themselves Promesses. Which they enjoy so much that they organise their own parties under the moniker Professeur Promesses. In fact, they enjoy organising soooo much that they even set up Milieux Festival and catapulted Promesses into a border-smashing record label, with releases by Apulati Bien, chiasm and DJ Call Me (among others) and compilation gems with the likes of Clara!, salome and Kelman Duran. The common thread? Hybridity and eclecticism – or long live the absence of any common thread! Promesses' releases, their shows on Rinse FM and their live sets never care about "how it should be", they’re all about how it sounds. Rap, reggaeton, footwork, trance, jersey, baile funk, hyperpop, ambient ... anything goes, except putting boundaries on the expressive freedom of artists and audiences. To experience music is a thoroughly collective act in Promesses' world. So be welcome, it's fun here <3
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​https://www.instagram.com/_promesses/
​​​​​​​https://soundcloud.com/prmsss

You might also like:

Professeur Promesses & Isengard Guilde w/ Donna Candy + tommy moisi + Lilo + Nonchalanté Partners + Vinessett

music

Professeur Promesses & Isengard Guilde w/ Donna Candy + tommy moisi + Lilo + Nonchalanté Partners + Vinessett

nightlife
FR 01.03 22:00

Du nu-metal à la trance, du rock à la trap, de la guaracha au footwork — ce sera une célébration de l'hybridité musicale !

Donna Candy  
Des basses nu-métal, du fuzz indus, des percus giclantes, des voix d'outre-tombe et des boucles incessantes – on est dans la fosse ou sur le dancefloor ? Question piège : c’est les deux à la fois, et les délices sludge du trio DIY Donna Candy ne manqueront pas d'attiser ta soif. Tout commence à Marseille, avec l'envie de monter un groupe pour faire la fête entre deux sets trance à 4h du mat, sauf que le trio devient vite accro à son propre doom-noise euphorique. En concert, ils se font face au milieu de la salle sans l'aide d'un podium. L'énergie entre Donna Candy et son public se transforme, se dilate, éclate en une catharsis queer. Il ne reste plus grand-chose de la dictature du machisme nihiliste contre l'hyper-féminité du métal classique ; la fausse-hybridité irrésistible du nu-metal des années 90, en revanche, déploie soudain toutes ses possibilités. Quelques tournées (brèves mais vigoureuses) dans l'underground français, suisse et britannique, entre autres, débouchent sur l'impressionnant premier album ‘Blooming’, une sortie coproduite par Bison, Isola, Kraak et Swallowing Helmets. Ces deux derniers avaient déjà programmé Donna Candy à La Perle à Bruxelles ; c'est la salle argentée qui les accueille maintenant aux côtés de Promesses et Isengard (ce qui laisse présager du neuf dans la pipeline...).
https://www.instagram.com/donna__candy/
https://soundcloud.com/donnacandy/

 

tommy moisi écrit, compose et chante depuis plusieurs années. Ses textes sensibles et poétiques ont une portée universelle tandis que sa voix berce le public d'une énergie douce et authentique. Pourtant, sa production musicale tient plus du bonbon acidulé que de la rose pixelisée. Cette hybridation entre HD et lo-fi, lisse et brut, Gen Z(eitgeist) et intemporel semble séduire à la fois hors ligne et en ligne – y compris celleux qui ne l'auraient pas entendu venir tout de suite. Les EP autoproduits 'variety' et 'sparkling memories' sont savourés par une communauté d'artistes quelque part entre Paris et Soundcloud – on pense au producteur NxxxxxS ou à nos habitué·es Oï les Ox et Salome. Tout ça pour dire qu'il serait temps qu'on se rencontre irl.
https://www.instagram.com/tommy_moisi/
https://soundcloud.com/benedictlegroinscotvile

 

Lilo fait des choix contrastés qui ravivent des émotions enfouies à la manière d'un parfum. Dans ses sets pour LYL et Kiosk Radio tout comme ses playlists en ligne, elle mélange des sons trance d'Europe de l'Est des années 2000 à des sons typiques de son enfance ukrainienne, avec en prime la touche rock d’une adolescence française. On va danser <3
https://www.instagram.com/lilo___0o/
​​​​​​​https://soundcloud.com/lil_o0o/

 

Nonchalanté Partners
Des montagnes russes émotionnelles, de la mélancolie à l'espoir, tel est le credo des sœurs Chloé et Amélie. Nonchalanté Partners partage des ballades dont elles seules connaissent les rebondissements. Attends-toi à des morceaux frémissants, cathartiques et apaisants.
​​​​​​​https://www.instagram.com/tchikyboom
https://www.instagram.com/chloecordiale​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
https://soundcloud.com/nonchalantexpartners​​​​​​​

 

Vinessett, cofondateur du collectif d'artistes et du label bruxellois Isengard, est un DJ qui aime foutre la merde avant tout. On ne sait jamais ce qui nous attend au tournant, sauf que ça risque de nous faire exploser de rire. Son bordel uptempo fait appel à des époques et des régions variées : guaracha, jersey club, bass music, EDM, dnb, rap, footwork... tant que c'est bien chelou et bien péchu.
https://www.instagram.com/vinessett/​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​https://soundcloud.com/vinessett

 

Promesses est le nom que se donnent DJs Samos et Härdee lorsqu'ils mixent ensemble. Ça les fait tellement kiffer qu'ils organisent leurs propres soirées sous le nom de Professeur Promesses. À vrai dire, ils kiffent teeeeellement organiser des teufs qu'ils ont même monté le Milieux Festival, propulsant Promesses en un label iconoclaste diffusant les titres d'Apulati Bien, chiasm et DJ Call Me (entre autres) ainsi que des compils-perles signées Clara!, salome et Kelman Duran. Le fil conducteur ? L'hybridité et l'éclectisme, ou vive l'absence de fil conducteur ! Leurs sorties, leurs émissions sur Rinse FM et leurs concerts ne se soucient jamais des conventions. Rap, reggaeton, footwork, trance, jersey, baile funk, hyperpop, ambient... tout est permis, sauf brider la liberté d'expression des artistes et du public. L'expérience de la musique est un acte collectif à part entière dans le monde de Promesses. Bienvenue, c'est fun par ici <3
​​​​​​​https://www.instagram.com/_promesses/
​​​​​​​https://soundcloud.com/prmsss