The Undercommons Collective translation workshop
workshop
TH 10.06 10:00 - 16:00
FR 11.06 10:00 - 16:00
SA 12.06 10:00 - 16:00

Invoking a form of surplus generated at the margins of capitalism’s exploitative systems, Ève Chabanon draws our attention to practices that recall what Stefano Harney and Fred Moten call ‘the Undercommons’.

In the collection of essays The Undercommons: Fugitive Planning and Black Study (2013) Harney and Moten draw up a political, social and aesthetic critique of racial capitalism by exploring forms of resistance to colonial commons. Unfolding as a place of uncertainty, collective creation, informal exchange and improvisation, The Undercommons was an essential trigger in Ève’s research leading up to The Surplus of the Non-producer.

In collaboration with Rosanna Puyol, co-founder of Brook publishing (Paris), we offer a three-day workshop aimed at sharing these insights by collectively translating a selection of passages from the book t from English to French and Dutch. This collective process of translation was initiated by Rosanna Puyol in 2019 as a way to reflect the ‘multitudes’ that are called upon by the book’s authors. In order to ground this process within the multilingual context of Brussels, the third day of the workshop will initiate / will be dedicated to initiating a Dutch translation of The Undercommons.

Thursday 10.06 collective translation EN > FR (facilitated by Rosanna Puyol)
Friday 11.06 collective translation EN > FR (facilitated by Rosanna Puyol)
Saturday 12.06 collective translation EN > NL (facilitated by Annabel Debaenst)

Lunch is provided during the sessions.
Reserve your spot.

BIO
Rosanna Puyol is a poet and editor who collaborates with artists for exhibitions, readings, film programs and performances. She co-founded the editing house Brook and has worked on the publication of translations of texts by Laura Mulvey, Shulamith Firestone, Fred Moten & Stefano Harney, José Esteban Muñoz, Cecilia Pavón and Saidiya Hartman, among others. She organizes reading groups as well as writing and translation workshops.
http://www.rosannapuyol.fr
https://www.instagram.com/tarahasnoroomsinside

The Undercommons Collective translation workshop
workshop
TH 10.06 10:00 - 16:00
FR 11.06 10:00 - 16:00
SA 12.06 10:00 - 16:00

Invoquant une forme de surplus généré en marge des systèmes capitalistes fondés sur l'exploitation, Ève Chabanon attire notre attention sur des pratiques qui rappellent ce que Stefano Harney et Fred Moten appellent "the Undercommons".

Dans le recueil d'essais Les sous-communs - Planification fugitive et étude noire (2013), Harney et Moten dressent une critique politique, sociale et esthétique du capitalisme racial en explorant des formes de résistance aux communs coloniaux. Déployé comme un lieu d'incertitude, de création collective, d'échange informel et d'improvisation, Les sous-communs s'est avéré essentiel pour déclencher les recherches d'Ève sur Le surplus du non-producteur.

En collaboration avec Rosanna Puyol, cofondatrice des éditions Brook (Paris), nous proposons un atelier de trois jours pour partager ces réflexions autour d'une traduction collective de passages du livre, de l'anglais vers le français et le néerlandais. Rosanna Puyol a initié ce processus de traductions collectives en 2019 afin de refléter les "multitudes" qu'évoquent les auteurs. Afin d'ancrer ce processus dans le contexte multilingue de Bruxelles, le troisième jour de l'atelier sera consacré à démarrer une traduction néerlandaise des Sous-communs.

Jeudi 10.06 traduction collective EN > FR (facilité par Rosanna Puyol)
Vendredi 11.06 traduction collective  EN > FR (facilité par Rosanna Puyol)
Samedi 12.06 traduction collective  EN > NL (facilité par Annabel Debaenst)

Le déjeuner est offert. 

BIO

Rosanna Puyol est poétesse et éditrice. Elle élabore des expositions, des lectures, des programmes de films et des performances en collaboration avec des artistes. Elle a cofondé la maison d'édition Brook et travaillé à l'édition des textes traduits de Laura Mulvey, Shulamith Firestone, Fred Moten & Stefano Harney, José Esteban Muñoz, Cecilia Pavón et Saidiya Hartman, entre autres. Elle organise des groupes de lecture ainsi que des ateliers d'écriture et de traduction.
http://www.rosannapuyol.fr
https://www.instagram.com/tarahasnoroomsinside

You might also like: