Cakes da Killa + Blck Mamba
concert dj set pride week
SA 21.05 20:30

Queer party poet spitting the hip hop scene to shreds with every syllable.

20:00 doors
20:30 Blck Mamba (dj set)
22:00 Cakes da Killa
20:30 Blck Mamba (dj set)
00:00 end

Since 2011, Cakes Da Killa has spit just about every hip hop habit to shreds with his highly incendiary mix of rough 90s rap and high energy club beats - think 80s London/Chicago hip house but oh-so-21st century.

Rashard Bradshaw started rap battling in high school and continued rhyming on camera until he got to college in New York. He thought his first official mixtape would be his last, but when the Internet (and the rest of the world) went wild with Eulogy in 2013, he decided - hallelujah baby - to make Cakes Da Killa the leading voice/character/icon of the queer wave rolling over the hip hop scene.

Now, after two full albums and a slew of singles and EPs, this unabashedly authentic MC promotes Black excellence and LGBTQ+ visibility with every syllable while throwing a party for us all. We say it's about time to come meet this party poet from a dancing distance.

https://www.instagram.com/cakesdakilla/

photo Cakes de Killa by Ebru Yildiz


w/ The Belgian Pride Brussels

You might also like:

Cakes da Killa + Blck Mamba
concert dj set pride week
SA 21.05 20:30

Poète festif et queer qui fait voler la scène hip-hop en éclats à chaque syllabe.

20:00 doors
20:30 Blck Mamba (dj set)
22:00 Cakes da Killa
20:30 Blck Mamba (dj set)
00:00 end

Depuis 2011, Cakes Da Killa fait voler en éclats toutes les coutumes du hip-hop avec son mélange incendiaire de rap brut des années 90 et de rythmes club dynamiques - genre hip house 80's de Londres ou Chicago version nouveau millénaire.

Rashard Bradshaw commence les battles de rap dans la cantine de l'école et continue à se filmer et à faire des rimes jusqu'à l'unif. Il est persuadé que sa première compile officielle sera la dernière, mais quand le monde entier s'enflamme pour Eulogy en 2013, Cakes Da Killa devient une des icônes principales de la vague queer déferlant sur la scène hip hop.

Aujourd'hui, après deux albums complets et une multitude de singles et d'EPs, ce MC authentique et sans complexe promeut l'excellence noire et la visibilité LGBTQ+ avec chaque syllabe sur fond de fête pour toustes. Viens donc rencontrer ce poète de la fête au plus près de la danse.

https://www.instagram.com/cakesdakilla/

photos by Ebru Yildiz
w/ The Belgian Pride Brussels