Etuwe Bright Junior/Star Boy Collective Look On The Bright Side

performance
FR 08.03 20:30
SA 09.03 20:30

A seemingly absurd attempt to become a star offers a glimpse behind the scenes at the mechanisms of fame.

In this performance, Etuwe Bright Junior explores his own dream of stardom. He first came to Europe to pursue a career in football, but when that didn’t take off, not having a diploma, he went to work in a factory. He’s also a member of the performance group Star Boy Collective, with whom he’d perform for appreciative audiences across Europe before returning to his day job at the factory in Belgium.

In Look on the Bright side, Junior finds himself alone on stage, vulnerable before an audience that – in a very real way – has the power to determine his future. In a language he’s still wrestling with, he analyses the strange situation in which he finds himself. Junior’s sometimes absurd quest for stardom gives the audience a look behind the curtains of fame. Which mechanisms in our society determine who ‘makes it’? And under which circumstances?

Look on the Bright side is the fourth performance to come from the Star Boy Collective. The collective consists entirely of West-African football-migrants living in Belgium and was founded by the Australian performance-maker Ahilan Ratnamohan, who likewise came to Europe in his youth in pursuit of a career in football.

Part of NORMAL SCHNORMAL, a multidisciplinary programme on normality and other deviations.

Dutch spoken, English subtitles 

concept & performer: Etuwe Bright Junior, concept & direction: Ahilan Ratnamohan, musician: Jeremie Hakeshimana, dramaturgy: Sodja Lotker, costumes & dramaturgy: Anne-Catherine Kunz, light design: Herman Sorgeloos, script advice: Phéline Thierens, production: Monty Kultuurfaktorij, coproduction: Beursschouwburg, A Cultured Left Foot, CO Luchtbal, Muziektheater Transparant

You might also like:

Etuwe Bright Junior/Star Boy Collective Look On The Bright Side
performance
FR 08.03.2019 20:30
SA 09.03.2019 20:30

Une tentative apparemment absurde de devenir une star offre un aperçu des coulisses des mécanismes de la gloire.

Dans cette performance, Etuwe Bright Junior explore son propre rêve : la célébrité. Arrivé en Europe pour poursuivre une carrière de footballeur qui n’a finalement jamais décollé, il travaille actuellement dans une usine, sans diplôme. Il fait également partie du Star Boy Collective avec qui il rencontre du succès partout en Europe avant de retourner à l’usine en Belgique le jour suivant.

Dans Look on the Bright side, Junior est seul sur scène, vulnérable face à un public qui, en quelque sorte, détermine son avenir. Il analyse la situation étrange dans laquelle il se trouve dans une langue avec laquelle il est encore aux prises. La quête de célébrité de Junior, parfois absurde, nous donne un aperçu des coulisses de la gloire. Quels sont les mécanismes qui déterminent ceux qui « réussissent » dans notre société ? Et dans quelles circonstances ?

Look on the Bright side est la quatrième performance de Star Boy Collective, un collectif de footballeurs d’Afrique de l’Ouest immigrés en Belgique créé par l’Australien Ahilan Ratnamohan, qui, dans sa jeunesse, est également venu en Europe pour faire carrière dans le football.

Partie du NORMAL SCHNORMAL, un programme multidisciplinaire sur la normalité et d’autres déviations.

En néerlandais, sous-titres anglais

concept & performer: Etuwe Bright Junior, concept & direction: Ahilan Ratnamohan, musician: Jeremie Hakeshimana, dramaturgy: Sodja Lotker, costumes & dramaturgy: Anne-Catherine Kunz, light design: Herman Sorgeloos, script advice: Phéline Thierens, production: Monty Kultuurfaktorij, coproduction: Beursschouwburg, A Cultured Left Foot, CO Luchtbal, Muziektheater Transparant