BLACK BOX
Nicolas Provost The Painters
looped screening
FR 03.10.2014 19:00 - 22:00
WE 08.10.2014 12:00 - 22:00
SA 04.10.2014 12:00 - 22:00
TH 09.10.2014 12:00 - 22:00
FR 10.10.2014 12:00 - 22:00
SA 11.10.2014 12:00 - 22:00

The Painters, a short film in which Nicolas Provost transforms the most spectacular blow-jobs and ejaculations into an alienating colour mash with picturesque qualities.

Nicolas Provost, Belgian visual artist and cinematographer, has been making short and medium-length films since graduation and in 2011 made his full-length début with The Invader. Provost’s videos are often musings about cinema, punctuated with film clichés (taken from the cult-horror film, cops thriller and film noir genres).

Images which he films with hidden cameras or ferrets out from the margins of film history, he recycles and manipulates into poetic videos brimming with visual splendour. Provost’s exceptional attention to sound and (threatening) atmosphere add an extra significant dimension, which steals up unnoticed on the viewer.

In the 2009 Long Live the New Flesh he uses “datamoshing” or “glitch art” for the first time, a digital technique in which a faltering image compression leads to visible pixel errors and images which appear to devour each other.


At the Beurs he is showing his latest video The Painters, a short film in which he gets to work in that other major film industry - pornography. He transforms the most spectacular blow-jobs and ejaculations into an alienating colour mash with picturesque qualities.

In Language no problem

Productie: Nicolas Provost, 2014
Belgium, 2014, 4min

The show is not suitable for visitors under 16 years.

music performance film expo conversations dig deepeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
BLACK BOX
Nicolas Provost The Painters

Nicolas Provost The Painters

looped screening
FR 03.10.2014 19:00 - 22:00
WE 08.10.2014 12:00 - 22:00
SA 04.10.2014 12:00 - 22:00
TH 09.10.2014 12:00 - 22:00
FR 10.10.2014 12:00 - 22:00
SA 11.10.2014 12:00 - 22:00

The Painters, un court-métrage ou Nicolas Provost transforme les plus spectaculaires fellations et éjaculations en une sorte de bouillie chromatique aux caractéristiques picturales, par le datamoshing.

Nicolas Provost, artiste plastique et réalisateur belge, réalise des courts et des moyens-métrages depuis la fin de ses études. En 2012, il a réalisé son premier long-métrage intitulé The Invader. Truffées de clichés cinématographiques issus de films d'horreur cultes, de thrillers de seconde zone et de films noirs, les vidéos de Provost suscitent une forme de rêverie sur le cinéma.

Il recycle et refaçonne en vidéos poétiques, visuellement splendides, des images filmées en caméra cachée ou dénichées dans les tréfonds de l'histoire du cinéma. L'attention particulière qu'accorde Nicolas Provost au son et à l'atmosphère (menaçante) ajoute un niveau de signification supplémentaire à son œuvre, qui s'instille subrepticement dans l'esprit du spectateur.

Dans Long Live the New Flesh, réalisé en 2009, il utilise pour la première fois la technique numérique dite de « datamoshing » ou « glitch art », par laquelle une compression d'images dérangeante conduit à des erreurs de pixelisation ostensibles et à des images semblant se dévorer mutuellement.

Il nous présente The Painters, un court-métrage abordant cette autre grande industrie du cinéma qu'est la pornographie. Par le datamoshing, il transforme les plus spectaculaires fellations et éjaculations en une sorte de bouillie chromatique aux caractéristiques picturales.

En Language no problem

Productie: Nicolas Provost, 2014
Belgium, 2014, 4min

Le screening n'est pas adapté pour les visiteurs de moins de 16 ans.

You might also like: