screenings
Dmitry Paranyushkin Interviews with Artificial Artificial Intelligence

film

Dmitry Paranyushkin Interviews with Artificial Artificial Intelligence

video loop
WE 30.10.2013 11:00 - 22:00 BE premiere
TH 31.10.2013 11:00 - 22:00
SA 02.11.2013 11:00 - 22:00
FR 01.11.2013 11:00 - 22:00

If artificial intelligence fails, anonymous manpower takes over the technology.

Recommender systems are the elementary building blocks of sites like Amazon, Last.fm, Spotify, etc. By analysing our surfing and site navigation behaviour, these systems ‘help’ us to find what we were not initially searching for, they suggest other options and in so doing control our further surfing behaviour.
Furthermore, on Amazon you can call upon the services of Mechanical Turk*. If the technology does not immediately find the correct match, you can ask Mechanical Turk questions which are subsequently answered by an anonymous employee (mostly in India or China) for next to nothing. When the artificial intelligence fails, real, live employees function as “artificial artificial intelligence”.

Dmitry Paranyushkin (in the Beursschouwburg last year with The Humping Pact – you remember, the bare bums) gets to work with the mobile Iphone app from the Amazon webshop. On the basis of photos you’ve taken with your phone, you can search for similar products from their range.

Paranyushkin presents a chronological report with these search robots and shows us the alarming and, on occasion, amusing logic of machines where the operation targets profit maximization and internet “improvement”.

32'30", DE, 2012

*Mechanical Turk refers to a 19th-century “chess computer” before the term existed, where the player takes up the gauntlet against a machine that was operated by a hidden (anonymous) person, the ‘Turk’.

Concept: Dmitry Paranyushkin
2010, durational installation.
Also available as a book (through Amazon, Motto Distribution and BBooks).

screenings
Dmitry Paranyushkin Interviews with Artificial Artificial Intelligence

film

Dmitry Paranyushkin Interviews with Artificial Artificial Intelligence

video loop
WE 30.10.2013 11:00 - 22:00 première BE
TH 31.10.2013 11:00 - 22:00
SA 02.11.2013 11:00 - 22:00
FR 01.11.2013 11:00 - 22:00

Quand l’intelligence artificielle échoue, des forces anonymes de main d’oeuvre prennent la relève sur la technologie.

Recommender systems (sens propre= systèmes de recommandation) sont les briques fondatrices élémentaires de sites tels que Amazon, Last.fm, Spotify etc. Par l’analyse de nos comportements de surf et de cliquage, ces systèmes nous “aident” à trouver ce dont nous n’étions initialement pas en recherche. Ils suggèrent d’autres possibilités, options et ainsi dirigent nos comportements de surf ultérieurs.
Chez Amazon, il est également possible de faire recours aux services de Mechanical Turk*. Si la technologie ne trouve pas immédiatement le bon match, il est possible de passer pour seulement quelques cents par le Mechanical Turk afin de poser des questions et ensuite recevoir une réponse provenant d’un employé anonyme (le plus souvent d’Inde ou Chine). Quand l’intelligence artificielle échoue ce sont des employés de chair et d’os qui oeuvrent sous le couvert “d’intelligences artificielles”.

Dmitry Paranyushkin (a présenté l’année dernière The Humping Pact au Beursschouwburg, vous vous souvenez sans aucun doute des fesses nues) se met à travailler avec l’app Iphone mobile de la web boutique d'Amazon. Cette application vous donne la possibilité d’aller à la recherche de produits comparables dans leur gamme de produits et cela en partant de photos prises avec votre téléphone.

Paranyushkin livre un compte rendu de son interaction avec ces moteurs de recherche et nous montre l’inquiétante et parfois drôle logique de ces machines qui ont des procédures axées sur la maximisation du profit et le “perfectionnement” de l’internet.

32'30", DE, 2012

  • Mechanical Turk réfère à un automate joueur d'échecs du 19ème, où un joueur s’opposait à une machine qui était alors commandée par une personne (anonyme) cachée, le “Turc”.

Concept: Dmitry Paranyushkin
2010, installation continue.
Un livre est également disponible (obtention via Amazon, Motto Distribution et BBooks).