screenings
Yuri Ancarani Human Machine Trilogy

film

Yuri Ancarani Human Machine Trilogy

documentary
TH 17.10.2013 20:30 BE premiere

The Italian video artist manages to surprise with three short documentaries on the topic of work, that are reminiscent of riveting science fiction movies.

Thee is no need to attend the Venice Biennale to enjoy Yuri Ancarani’s work. You can simply take the metro to the Beursschouwburg. In the trilogy Human Machine, the film artist brings to the surface what is invisible in our society and manages to put previously unknown professions in the spotlight, each time focusing on the encounter between man and machine:

In Part One, we are transported to the marble quarries of the Italian city of Carrara. In an unreal science-fiction landscape, a man directs – in a deafening silence – a digger in the direction of a large chunk of marble that is about to fragment.

In Part Two, Ancarani meticulously records all the actions of the crew on a deep-sea platform; for three weeks, six scuba divers stayed alternately in the recompression chamber on board the platform Luna or were at work on the bottom of the ocean, all their actions being tied to very strict protocols.

Part Three offers a special insight into the wonderful world of the modern operating theatre, in which the patient appears to play a mere supporting role. The operation is performed by robotic arms that are operated by the surgeon by means of a joystick. A robot performing an operation on a human being is no longer science fiction. In fact, it is so real that it is the subject of a documentary.

Subtitles in English

In Italian

Il Capo, 2010, IT, 16 min
Piattaforma Luna, 2011, IT, 25 min
Da Vinci, 2012, IT, 25 min

Cast
: Franco Barattini, Marcello Casadei, Franca Melfi
Director: Yuri Ancarani

Sound: Mirco Mencacci

Original music: Wang inc., Ben Frost, Lorenzo Senni
Producers
: Maurizio Cattelan, Ivan Frioni, Giorgio Gallenzi, Antonella Boccanelli Rodriguez, Luca Soldati, Warly Tomei

screenings
Yuri Ancarani Human Machine Trilogy

film

Yuri Ancarani Human Machine Trilogy

documentaire
TH 17.10.2013 20:30 première BE

Le vidéaste italien vous surprend avec trois courts documentaires autour du thème du travail, respirant l'atmosphère d'un passionnant film de science fiction.

Inutile de devoir vous rendre toutes affaires cessantes à la Biennale de Venise pour voir Yuri Ancarani à l’œuvre. Il vous suffit de prendre le métro direction Beursschouwburg. Dans la trilogie Human Machine l'artiste cinéaste rend l'invisible dans notre société visible et il réussit à placer des gens avec des métiers plutôt inconnus sous un jour héroïque. Dans chacun des trois documentaires Ancarani se concentre sur la rencontre entre l'homme et la machine.

Dans la première partie nous nous rendons aux carrières de marbre de la ville italienne de Carrare. Dans un paysage de science fiction irréel un homme commande – dans un silence étourdissant – un grappin de grue dans la direction du marbre qui est sur le point de s'effriter.

Ancarani fixe dans la deuxième partie avec minutie toutes les opérations de l'équipage d'une plate-forme au fond de la mer; trois semaines durant six plongeurs bivouaquent dans le caisson de surcompression de la plate-forme Luna ou sont à l’œuvre au fond de l'océan, toutes leurs opérations étant soumises à des protocoles sévères.

La troisième partie offre un regard particulier sur l'univers magique du bloc opératoire moderne, dans lequel le patient semble ne jouer qu'un rôle secondaire. L'opération est effectuée avec des bras de robots avec le chirurgien installé derrière une sorte de joystick. Un robot faisant une intervention chirurgicale sur l'homme : ce n'est plus de la science fiction depuis longtemps : c'est même tellement réel qu'on peut en faire un documentaire.

Sous-titres en Anglais

En italien

Il Capo, 2010, IT, 16 min
Piattaforma Luna, 2011, IT, 25 min
Da Vinci, 2012, IT, 25 min

Casting
: Franco Barattini, Marcello Casadei, Franca Melfi
Mise en scène : Yuri Ancarani

Son : Mirco Mencacci

Musique : Wang inc., Ben Frost, Lorenzo Senni
Producteurs 
: Maurizio Cattelan, Ivan Frioni, Giorgio Gallenzi, Antonella Boccanelli Rodriguez, Luca Soldati, Warly Tomei