Tashweesh festival
Tashweesh Closing Party w/ DJ Haram + Soumaya Phéline + Ojoo Gyal

music

Tashweesh Closing Party w/ DJ Haram + Soumaya Phéline + Ojoo Gyal

TASHWEESH FESTIVAL nightlife
SA 08.10 22:00

Come join the party crossing all the borders!

22:00 Ojoo Gyal 
23:00 DJ Haram 
01:00 Soumaya Phéline 

Philadelphia-based but New Jersey-born DJ and producer DJ Haram, ties the dance music history of these two local scenes together with her own heritage. When Zubyeda Muzeyyen steps into the booth carrying her alias, she throws down her bass-heavy take on Jersey club, booty bounce, and mahraganat. As a producer, her distinctive sound found an outlet in the form of her excellent Grace EP released on Hyperdub. Besides the US club scene, DJ Haram is involved in the DIY noise scene in Philadelphia. A side to her craft that is more obvious through her work together with Moor Mother. Their collaboration as 700 Bliss is a prolific and political unification of noise, rap, poetry, and beats.
https://www.instagram.com/djharam/

Brussels-based DJ, promoter, Kiosk radio host, and member of the Psst Mlle & Club Détour collectives, Soumaya Phéline isn’t here to make crowds feel comfortable. Instead, she constantly toys with dancefloor expectations by drawing from various electronic sub-genres – never quite giving you the kick, climax or gulp of air you thought you needed or asked for. Heavy with bass, breaks, mesmerizing melodies and rhythmic vocals, Soumaya’s sets distort and disturb in a way that’s strangely satisfying.
https://www.instagram.com/soumayapheline/

Born and raised in Morocco, the recently Brussels-based Ojoo Gyal has a wide-range approach to DJing, as evident from her Noods and Movement radio residencies. Her mixes vary from old-school dancehall to its contemporary mutations, heavy dub, bass, breaks, baile funk, and other radical twists of electronic music. 
https://www.instagram.com/ojoogyal/

Co-funded by the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union

Tashweesh festival
Tashweesh Closing Party w/ DJ Haram + Soumaya Phéline + Ojoo Gyal

music

Tashweesh Closing Party w/ DJ Haram + Soumaya Phéline + Ojoo Gyal

TASHWEESH FESTIVAL nightlife
SA 08.10 22:00

Come join the party crossing all the borders!

21:30 doors

22:00 Ojoo Gyal 
23:00 DJ Haram 
01:00 Soumaya Phéline 

DJ et productrice basée à Philadelphie mais née dans le New Jersey, DJ Haram lie l'histoire musicale de ces deux scènes locales à ses propres racines. Lorsque Zubyeda Muzeyyen entre dans la cabine avec son pseudonyme, elle balance sa version chargée en basses du Jersey club, de la booty bounce et du mahraganat. En tant que productrice, ses sonorités distinctes ont trouvé leur débouché avec l'excellent EP Grace sorti sur Hyperdub. Outre la scène club américaine, DJ Haram est impliquée dans la scène DIY noise de Philadelphie, une facette plus apparente dans son travail avec Moor Mother. Leur collaboration sous le nom de 700 Bliss est une union prolifique et politique de noise, de rap, de poésie et de beats.

Quand Soumaya Phéline (Psst Mlle, Club Détour) allume les platines, on capte tout de suite qu’elle veut nous challenger. Jouant constamment avec les attentes du dancefloor, Soumaya fusionne les sous-genres électroniques - sans jamais donner le kick, le climax ou la bouffée d'air qu’on attendait et qu’on pensait si vital. Rempli à ras bord de basses, de breaks, de mélodies envoûtantes et de voix rythmées, les sets de Soumaya nous perturbent et nous transforment pour laisser un goût d’étrange satisfaction. 
https://www.instagram.com/soumayapheline/

Née au Maroc, Ojoo Gyal se saisit du dancehall et de la dub pour former son propre style. En 2019, elle fait ses premiers dans des salles nord-africaines comme Atlas Electronic et Moga. Peu après, elle déménage à Bruxelles où elle continue de développer son talent sur la scène d'Europe occidentale. Ses mixes vont du dancehall old-school à ses incarnations contemporaines, en passant par des gros sons dub, la bass, les breaks, le baile funk et d'autres variantes plus radicales les unes que les autres. 
https://www.instagram.com/ojoogyal/


Cofinancé par le programme Europe créative de l'Union européenne