Tashweesh festival
The Future of Festivals

conversations

The Future of Festivals

TASHWEESH FESTIVAL talk
TH 06.10 18:00

Tashweesh Festival brings together experienced organizers for a provocative rethinking of the festival landscape. With Bochra Triki, Camille Khoury, Bouchra Lamsyeh and Tania El Khoury.

in English

Hosted by Nadia Kara

Join our panelists on the future of feminist arts and culture festivals and their role in promoting artistic experimentation, feminist activism, international collaboration and artistic mobility. How to shed the inherited structures and ideologies that so many cultural institutions cling to? In what ways does the festival format offer a deeply collective, intimate and inclusive sphere of gathering?

 

Camille Khoury is currently the artistic director and coordinator of the Brussels FAME festival (Festival where Arts Meet Empowerment). In 2021, she obtained a PhD in Performance Studies. Her research mixes theater history with gender, queer and feminist studies. She has worked as a stage director and performer for her own theater company, and as a dramaturge and assistant stage director for several theater and dance companies in France and in Belgium (Théâtre Permanent, Les Philosophes Barbares, Cie Interstices, Ecarlate la compagnie).
https://www.instagram.com/calmille_khlein/

Bouchra Lamsyeh is a multidisciplinary artist, DJ and actress. She studied international public law and geopolitics. Throughout the years, she has worked with several artists on projects with a strong societal impact. Since 2019, she is co-directing the artistic programme of Bâtard Festival with Sabine Cmelniski. In September 2022 she has been working on a seasonal programme together with Johanna Couvée opening at Kaaitheater.
https://www.instagram.com/b88bou/

Tania El Khoury is an artist whose work focuses on the interactivity of the public and its political potential. Tania's work has been translated into multiple languages and shown in 32 countries and 6 continents in spaces ranging from museums to cable cars. She is the recipient of the Soros Art Fellowship, the Bessies Outstanding Production Award, the International Live Art Prize, the Total Theater Innovation Award and the Arches Brick Award. Tania is the director of the OSUN Center for Human Rights and the Arts at Bard College in New York. She holds a doctorate from Royal Holloway, University of London. She is associated with the artist collective Forest Fringe in the United Kingdom and is the co-founder of Dictaphone Group in Lebanon, a research and living art collective aiming to question our relationship to the city and to redefine its public space.  She is currently co-curator of the Tashweesh festival. 
https://www.instagram.com/taniaelk/

Bochra Triki is associate professor of French and cultural operator in several projects. She notably co-organized Chouftouhonna, the international feminist art festival in Tunis during its four editions. She also co-founded Shift, a feminist print and digital graphic novel project and produced podcasts with Inkyfada. She is currently co-curator of the Tashweesh festival. 
​​​​​​​https://www.instagram.com/thatsme_inthecorner/

Born in Liege from an Algerian father and a German-Belgian mother, Nadia Kara grew up surrounded by a mix of cultures and influences. Observing the world, seeking her place throughout her youth, she developed an urge to understand people and create ways to connect with them. After studying media and communication, the multifaceted young woman relocated to Flanders, where she gained new perspectives on the dynamics of her homeland - the good, the bad and the ugly. Constantly questioning and educating herself, Nadia developed a talent for opening up constructive dialogue about serious matters, and currently works as a writer, podcaster and host. Her favourite subjects to talk about include mental health, feminism, diversity and sustainability, which she always treats with a personal and vulnerable approach.
https://www.instagram.com/nadiakara/

 

Note: Unfortunately Nedjma Hadj Benchelabi is not able to join the panel.

Tashweesh festival
The Future of Festivals

conversations

The Future of Festivals

TASHWEESH FESTIVAL conversation
TH 06.10 18:00

Le festival Tashweesh réunit des organisatrices expérimentées pour une refonte radicale du paysage festivalier. Avec Bochra Tikri, Camille Khoury,  Bouchra Lamsyeh et Tania El Khoury.

en anglais

Rejoignez nos panélistes sur l'avenir des festivals artistiques et culturels féministes et leur rôle dans la promotion de l'expérimentation artistique, du militantisme féministe, de la collaboration internationale et de la mobilité artistique. Comment se défaire des héritages idéologiques et structurels auxquels tant d'institutions culturelles continuent de s'accrocher ? De quelle manière le format du festival offre-t-il une sphère de rassemblement profondément collective, intime et inclusive ?

 

Camille Khoury est actuellement la directrice artistique et la coordinatrice du festival FAME de Bruxelles (Festival where Arts Meet Empowerment). En 2021, elle obtient un doctorat en études de la performance. Ses recherches mêlent l'histoire du théâtre aux études de genre, queer et féministes. Elle a travaillé comme metteuse en scène et interprète pour sa propre compagnie de théâtre, et comme dramaturge et assistante à la mise en scène pour plusieurs compagnies de théâtre et de danse en France et en Belgique (Théâtre Permanent, Les Philosophes Barbares, Cie Interstices, Ecarlate la compagnie).
https://www.instagram.com/calmille_khlein/

Bouchra Lamsyeh est une artiste multidisciplinaire, DJ et actrice. Elle a étudié le droit public international et la géopolitique. Au fil des années, elle a travaillé avec plusieurs artistes sur des projets à fort impact sociétal. Depuis 2019, elle codirige la programmation artistique du Bâtard Festival avec Sabine Cmelniski. Elle travaille actuellement sur un programme saisonnier avec Johanna Couvée qui ouvrira au Kaaitheater en septembre 2022.
https://www.instagram.com/b88bou/

Tania El Khoury est une artiste dont le travail se concentre sur l'interactivité du public et son potentiel politique. Le travail de Tania a été traduit en plusieurs langues et montré dans 32 pays et 6 continents dans des espaces allant des musées aux téléphériques. Elle est lauréate du Soros Art Fellowship, du Bessies Outstanding Production Award, du International Live Art Prize, du Total Theater Innovation Award et du Arches Brick Award. Tania est la directrice du Centre OSUN pour les droits de l'homme et les arts au Bard College de New York. Elle est titulaire d'un doctorat de Royal Holloway, Université de Londres. Elle est associée au collectif d'artistes Forest Fringe au Royaume-Uni et est co-fondatrice de Dictaphone Group au Liban, un collectif de recherche et d'art vivant visant à questionner notre rapport à la ville et à redéfinir son espace public. Elle est actuellement co-curatrice du festival Tashweesh.
https://www.instagram.com/taniaelk/

Bochra Triki est professeure agrégée de français et opératrice culturelle dans plusieurs projets. Elle a notamment co-organisé Chouftouhonna, le festival international d'art féministe de Tunis durant ses quatre éditions. Elle a également cofondé Shift, un projet de romans graphiques féministes en papier et en numérique, et a réalisé des podcasts avec Inkyfada.. Elle est actuellement co-curatrice du festival Tashweesh.
​​​​​​​https://www.instagram.com/thatsme_inthecorner/

Née à Liège d'un père algérien et d'une mère germano-belge, Nadia Kara a grandi entourée d'un mélange de cultures et d'influences. Observatrice cherchant sa place tout au long de sa jeunesse, elle a développé une envie de comprendre les gens et de créer des moyens de se connecter avec eux. Après avoir étudié les médias et la communication, la jeune femme aux multiples facettes s'installe en Flandre, où elle acquiert de nouvelles perspectives sur la dynamique de son pays natal - the good, the bad and the ugly. Au fil des remises en question et des enseignements, Nadia développe un talent pour aborder des sujets sérieux dans des dialogues constructifs, ce qui l'amène à travailler en tant qu'écrivaine, podcasteuse et animatrice. Ses sujets de prédilection sont la santé mentale, le féminisme, la diversité et le développement durable, qu'elle traite toujours avec une vulnérabilité toute personnelle.
https://www.instagram.com/nadiakara/

 

N.B. Nedjma Hadj Benchelabi ne peut malheureusement pas être présente.