Tashweesh festival
Reclaiming Cultural Heritage in Electronic Music

music

Reclaiming Cultural Heritage in Electronic Music

TASHWEESH FESTIVAL workshop
SA 01.10 12:00 - 18:00

w/ Cheb Runner, Salim Bayri and Youniss Ahamad.

In the first part, you will delve into the world of traditional rhythms and instruments like Bendir, Taarija, Qraqeb and Nakouss while producer Cheb Runner shows you how to recreate these sounds electronically using the Ableton software.

The second part focuses on the visual translation of the track you just produced, working with visual artist Salim Bayri to design your cover art. Interpreting your music's vibe into images, representing your cultural identity and playing with cultural references will all be addressed. You can bring any personal pictures you like (such as family photos, magazines, sketchbooks and flyers).

During the last part, sound and visuals come together, and you'll be introduced to the principles of live performance under the guidance of Youniss Ahamad. With some very simple "tools" and using your five senses, you'll learn how to design some genuine live features.

The workshops are free but only a limited number of spots are available. Sign up by filling out the reservation form. Includes drinks, snacks and a ticket to the club night.

supported by Darna

 

Producer Cheb Runner (real name Reda Senhaji) is a musical whirlwind rooted in Moroccan soil, exploring Western European electronic music landscapes. Nurtured by both worlds, he represents a new sound in between. With his rich database of sound recordings, he has built up a unique sample bank that he playfully mixes with digital effects supported by an extraordinary collection of synthesizers. Cheb Runner has been active in the field for more than 10 years, producing under various names. Both as a producer, composer and DJ he fuses traditional and contemporary electronic sounds; from Moroccan chaabi, spiritual sounds to eclectic disco, deep techno and Dutch gabber. He is a resident at Ghana's Oroko Radio a familiar face at Brussels finest radio station Kiosk. This fall he will release his latest EP Rai Beat Systems under the label Oddball Fantasies (Crevette Records). He is a resident at Brussels collective NotYourTechno and part of the (A)WAKE collective.
http://www.chebrunner.world/

Salim Bayri sees himself as "ambiguously in between" the cultures of Morocco and the Netherlands. He possesses a very sensitive radar for political and social situations which he denounces in a playful, original and versatile way using such media as drawings, sculptures, films, music, 'wearables' performances and texts. His sense of humor does not shy away from the dark edges of our existence. Together with his brother Tayeb, he is part of the music duo BAZOGA. After earning a BFA Arts and Design from the Escola Massana in Barcelona, Salim Bayri (b. 1992) pursued an MA in Media Art Design and Technology at the Frank Mohr Institute in Groningen, Netherlands. In 2019, he was selected for a two-year residency at the Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten. He has been nominated for the Amsterdam Prize For Art and was awarded the Charlotte Köhler prize this year.
https://www.salimbayri.com/

Youniss Ahamad works in his own practice under the name "Youniss" where he explores identity as an artist through various art forms, mainly in music. Under Youniss he explores the boundaries of his own identity under the influence of an ever-changing world. This culminated most recently in the project "the western gaze", exposing the ways music production software such as Ableton only allows creation from a Western musical framework. Which in turn makes it difficult to melodically compose with Arabic, African, traditional South American and other influences. In 2017, under previous project "Corrupted," he developed the Audiovisual show "Delusion," a total experience where music and visual work fused into one. As a musician and producer, he works for several artists including IKRAAAN, Porcelain_ID, Simon, Shaka Shams, .... He also created music for dance performances such as BULLY by Tomas Ntamashimikiro (OPEK, KVS) and Forbidden Conversations by Danielle Flieswasser (Zinnema). Conceptually, he reflects on the audiovisual needs of several bands including KRANKk, for whom he came up with the concept "RESET" last year with Vincent Wilms for the music theater show that premiered at "De Singel" on 27/08/2021, with a follow-up at Videodroom (Vooruit/VIERNULVIER & Film fest Gent) & Bozar Brussels. The projects he is currently closely involved in include: composing and producing the "Porcelain_ID debut album", playing and developing IKRAAAN's live band, as well as (co)producing the follow-up to its debut album and visual and scenic support for the "Use Knife" new live show debuting in the fall of 2022. Youniss' own new work "White Space" will be released in spring 2023.
https://uniz.be/

You might also like:

Tashweesh festival
Reclaiming Cultural Heritage in Electronic Music

music

Reclaiming Cultural Heritage in Electronic Music

TASHWEESH FESTIVAL workshop
SA 01.10 12:00 - 18:00

Avec Cheb Runner, Salim Bayri et Youniss Ahamad.

Dans la première partie, tu plongeras dans le monde des rythmes et instruments traditionnels comme le Bendir, le Taarija, le Qraqeb et le Nakouss, tandis que le producteur Cheb Runner te montre comment recréer ces sons électroniquement à l'aide du logiciel Ableton.

La deuxième partie se concentre sur la traduction visuelle du morceau que tu viens de produire, en travaillant avec l'artiste visuel Salim Bayri pour concevoir ta pochette. Interpréter la vibe de ta musique en images, représenter ton identité culturelle et jouer avec des références culturelles seront au programme.Tu peux apporter des images perso (comme des photos de famille, des magazines, des carnets de croquis ou des flyers).

Dans la dernière partie, le son et l'image se rejoignent et tu seras initié aux principes du live sous la tutelle de Youniss Ahamad. Avec des outils très simples et à l'aide de tes cinq sens, tu seras en mesure de développer tes propres éléments pour une performance en direct.

Les ateliers sont gratuits mais le nombre de places disponibles est limité. Inscris-toi en remplissant le formulaire de réservation. Les ateliers comprennent des boissons, des snacks et une entrée pour la soirée club.

avec le soutien de Darna

 

Le producteur Cheb Runner (de son vrai nom Reda Senhaji) est un tourbillon musical enraciné dans le sol marocain, qui explore les paysages de la musique électronique d'Europe occidentale. Nourri par ces deux mondes, il représente un nouveau son entre les deux. Grâce à sa riche base de données d'enregistrements sonores, il s'est constitué une banque de samples unique qu'il mélange de manière ludique avec des effets numériques soutenus par une collection extraordinaire de synthétiseurs. Cheb Runner est actif dans le domaine depuis plus de 10 ans en tant que producteur sous différents noms. En tant que producteur, compositeur et DJ, il fusionne des sons électroniques traditionnels et contemporains ; du chaabi marocain aux sons spirituels, en passant par la disco éclectique, la deep techno et le gabber néerlandais. Il est résident à la radio Oroko du Ghana et un visage familier à Kiosk, une des meilleures radios de Bruxelles Cet automne, il sortira son dernier EP Rai Beat Systems sous le label Oddball Fantasies (Crevette Records). Il est résident du collectif bruxellois NotYourTechno et fait partie du collectif (A)WAKE.
http://www.chebrunner.world/

Salim Bayri se situe de façon ambiguë entre les cultures du Maroc et des Pays-Bas. Il possède un radar très sensible pour les situations politiques et sociales qu'il dénonce de manière ludique, originale et polyvalente en utilisant des médias tels que des dessins, des sculptures, des films, de la musique, des performances des "wearables" et des textes. Son sens de l'humour ne recule pas devant les bords sombres de notre existence. Avec son frère Tayeb, il fait partie du duo musical BAZOGA. Après avoir obtenu un BFA Arts et Design à l'Escola Massana de Barcelone, Salim Bayri (né en 1992) a poursuivi un MA en Media Art Design and Technology à l'Institut Frank Mohr de Groningue, aux Pays-Bas. En 2019, il a été sélectionné pour une résidence de deux ans à la Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten. Il a été nominé pour le Amsterdam Prize For Art et a reçu le prix d'encouragement Charlotte Köhler cette année.
https://www.salimbayri.com/

Youniss Ahamad travaille en solo sous le nom de "Youniss" où il explore son identité en tant qu'artiste à travers diverses formes d'art, principalement la musique. Sous le nom de Youniss, il explore les limites de sa propre identité sous l'influence d'un monde en constante évolution. Cela a culminé plus récemment dans le projet "the western gaze", exposant la façon dont les logiciels de production musicale tels qu'Ableton ne permettent que la création à partir d'un cadre musical occidental. Ce qui, à son tour, rend difficile la composition mélodique avec des influences arabes, africaines, traditionnelles sud-américaines et autres. En 2017, dans le cadre du projet précédent "Corrupted", il a développé le spectacle audiovisuel "Delusion", une expérience totale où la musique et l'œuvre visuelle fusionnent en un. En tant que musicien et producteur, il travaille pour plusieurs artistes dont IKRAAAN, Porcelain_ID, Simon, Shaka Shams, ..... Il a également créé la musique de spectacles de danse tels que BULLY de Tomas Ntamashimikiro (OPEK, KVS) et Forbidden Conversations de Danielle Flieswasser (Zinnema). Sur le plan conceptuel, il réfléchit aux besoins audiovisuels de plusieurs groupes, dont KRANKk, pour lequel il a imaginé le concept "RESET" l'année dernière avec Vincent Wilms pour le spectacle de théâtre musical qui a été présenté en première au "De Singel" le 27/08/2021, avec une suite au Videodroom (Vooruit/VIERNULVIER & Film fest Gent) & Bozar Brussels. Les projets auxquels il participe actuellement de près comprennent : la composition et la production du premier album de "Porcelain_ID", développer et jouer dans le groupe live d'IKRAAAN, ainsi que la (co)production de la suite de son premier album et le soutien visuel et scénique du nouveau spectacle live "Use Knife" qui débutera à l'automne 2022. La nouvelle œuvre personnelle de Youniss, "White Space", sortira au printemps 2023.
https://uniz.be/