Tashweesh festival
Trans-Utopia’s

conversations

Trans-Utopia’s

TASHWEESH FESTIVAL talk
WE 05.10 19:00

Connect to the powerful energy of trans-imaginaries. With Robin Brettar and Jihan Imago.

What would a trans-utopia look like? How would our society be structured if transphobia didn’t exist? How would trans identities flourish if they didn’t have to fight against the oppression of institutional heteronormativity across lines of gender, sexualility, ability, race and class? As we dissect the various organs of discrimination, a new world, a new horizon, emerges. A world that may still be a utopia but that we can all aspire to. Trans-imaginaries are a powerful energy – they offer a unique form of self-description and thus the potential to open up a new narrative for the concept of gender.

in English
hosted by Nadia Kara

 

Robin Brettar studied painting and philosophy (kask, Ugent, CEU, KULeuven). They identify as non-binary trans-masc feminist and have a fierce passion for community organizing and collaborative projects. Robin is a member of Mothers and Daughters - a lesbian* and trans* bar and co-founder of Transemble. Currently, they are studying conflict mediation and hope to further develop these skills professionally.

Jihan Imago is a visual artist, choreographer and performer. Interested in itinerancy and in the body as an habitat and archive, Jihan Imago’s practice also focuses on mental health and self-esteem, most notably as a coach for teens at the King Baudouin Foundation with a particular concern for LGTBQIA+ and migration issues. He is currently working on his third choreographic creation. 
https://www.instagram.com/jihanimago/

Born in Liege from an Algerian father and a German-Belgian mother, Nadia Kara grew up surrounded by a mix of cultures and influences. Constantly questioning and educating herself, Nadia developed a talent for opening up constructive dialogue about serious matters, and currently works as a writer, podcaster and host. Her favourite subjects to talk about include mental health, feminism, diversity and sustainability, which she always treats with a personal and vulnerable approach.
https://www.instagram.com/nadiakara/

Tashweesh festival
Trans-Utopia’s

conversations

Trans-Utopia’s

TASHWEESH FESTIVAL conversation
WE 05.10 19:00

Connecte-toi à l'énergie puissante des imaginaires trans. Avec Robin Brettar et Jihan Imago.

À quoi ressemblerait une utopie trans ? Comment notre société serait-elle structurée si la transphobie n'existait pas ? Comment les identités trans s'épanouiraient-elles si elles n'avaient pas à lutter contre l'oppression hétéronormative institutionnelle au niveau du genre, de la sexualité, des capacités et des origines ? En disséquant les différents organes de la discrimination, l'horizon d'un nouveau monde se dessine. Bien qu’il soit encore une utopie, c’est un monde auquel nous pouvons tou·s·tes aspirer. Les imaginaires trans constituent une énergie puissante en proposant une forme unique d'auto-description capable de proposer de nouveaux récits pour le concept de genre.

en anglais
moderé par Nadia Kara

 

Robin Brettar (iel) a étudié la peinture, la philosophie et la médiation des conflits. Robin s'identifie comme féministe non-binaire trans-masculin avec une passion ardente pour l'organisation communautaire et les projets collaboratifs. Robin est membre de Mothers & Daughters, un bar lesbien* et trans*, et co-fondatrice de Transemble.

Jihan Imago est artiste visuel, chorégraphe et performeur. Intéressé par l'itinérance et par le corps comme habitat et archive, sa pratique se concentre également sur la santé mentale et l'estime de soi, notamment en accompagnant des adolescent·es à la Fondation Roi Baudouin, avec une préoccupation particulière pour la migration et les enjeux LGTBQIA+. Il prépare actuellement sa troisième création chorégraphique.
https://www.instagram.com/jihanimago/

Née à Liège d'un père algérien et d'une mère germano-belge, Nadia Kara a grandi entourée d'un mélange de cultures et d'influences. Observatrice cherchant sa place tout au long de sa jeunesse, elle a développé une envie de comprendre les gens et de créer des moyens de se connecter avec eux. Au fil des remises en question et des enseignements, Nadia développe un talent pour aborder des sujets sérieux dans des dialogues constructifs, ce qui l'amène à travailler en tant qu'écrivaine, podcasteuse et animatrice. Ses sujets de prédilection sont la santé mentale, le féminisme, la diversité et le développement durable, qu'elle traite toujours avec une vulnérabilité toute personnelle.
https://www.instagram.com/nadiakara/